Musings From A Musical Mind

The Love Bank…

Years ago I learned that everyone has a “love bank” – and internal vault that holds positive things that are deposited there – and sadly, negative things are subsequently withdrawn.

Everyone has one of these – deep inside – you just maybe didn’t know what it was called.  People in your life that love you will “pour” into your life with positive words of love and healing – that is called a “deposit”.  The more deposits – the better and healthier we are.  But there are also people that you love in your life that DO NOT have words of love and healing – they are cruel – petty and mean – even slightly sarcastic – and that takes a HUGE withdrawal in your personal love bank.

We have a way of remembering  just who is “depositing” or making “withdrawals”.  You notice I said the people who LOVE you – really love you – will want to speak life and hope and healing into your love bank.  Give you MANY deposits to fill up that vault – never leave you wanting or lonely.  But the people that YOU love – are always the ones who TAKE.  Because we cannot be hurt by those that we don’t love – or have invested in.

Which one are you?  Are you a lover and encourager to the people you love?  Do you love to “build” people up?  Does it give you energy and lift your spirits when someone you deeply love is happy?  Do you feel that “deposit” going in to your own bank when being encouraging and kind to someone else?  What if someone gets more attention and something wonderful in their life?  Can you applaud each success and not think – “what’s in it for me”?

Or are you a “taker”.  You may appear to be pleased when someone you love is happy – or gets a promotion at work – or receives unexpected money – or has success in their marriage or other relationships – but underneath you are seething – and saying, “if I give them attention – somehow NO ONE will see me”  And you think that a HUGE withdrawal will come out of your own personal love bank – just for giving a kind encouraging word.  It is just so much more easy to be sarcastic or negative and bring that person “down a peg” – because it will take ANY attention away from you – and you can’t risk it.

I know both kinds of people in my life.  It is easy to love the one kind – very difficult and takes an act of my will to love the other.  Speaking from someone who knows – you WILL NOT lose anything from your own personal bank when you are kind and gracious – because what people lack in giving you – God will make up for their lack and richly bless you.  And you can’t ask for a better blessing than this.

If you have been hurt – and the hurt only happens from someone we really love – believe me, I know – then  it is difficult to love and say encouraging words to someone else.  Remember we are not asked to “fix” someone else – we cannot control what they say and do to us – we have to release that to God – and take ownership for how we will respond.  A big person will forgive readily and be ready – with a FULL love bank to bless others.

I am praying for you today – that your “love bank” will be full to overflowing.

God Bless

Comments on: "The Love Bank…" (8)

  1. Uh…I’d like to make a withdrawal?

  2. May we all learn to have that heart, to be depositors into the accounts of others…even if we only have time to use the drive-through!

  3. debi verwers said:

    Thanks again Cindy, you are such a blessing with just the right words at just the right time!

    I’m sorry JoJo but this was for me!! : ) But we’ll fill eachothers Love Bank and SHARE Cindy’s thoughts…..

    Life has been tough lately, I pray I am a giver, although I suppose I fall into the taking side at times of weakness in my life. I don’t want to miss the blessing’s God has for me, so I will be alert. This is good stuff, I’m challenged now to go find someone I can give to, to love on and let them love on me!!!

  4. You know it’s funny you should write on this now as I am going through a really tough time right now.

    I am totally an encourager. However in the last few weeks I have met with emails from people who either think I don’t give enough or don’t like what I give for free.

    I spend so much time posting notes of encouragement on other’s blogs, Facebook and Twitter pages, yet I don’t get many on mine. Then I get an email from someone on Facebook that only wants to be my friend in order to get ahead in some game they are playing! They actually tell me so! Someone recently became my friend for all of one day before she felt bold enough to almost tell me to post her sale because she noticed that I had a “large following”.

    I had someone ask me to write a book for them (for free of course) that would end up being my own competition! She was upset with me for not doing it as she said God wants us to help each other. Though she never helped my business.

    I feel like I’ve had a lot of folks take from my Love Bank the last few weeks. And not just taking advantage of things I do for free but poking at them and complaining about them. I kind of felt like a wounded buffalo being picked at by the buzzards this week.

    Thanks for the encouragement you always have on your blog. Sometimes I feel like it’s just for me!

    • Wow JoJo – I am SO glad this was just what you needed today. Isn’t it great when God can give something to someone – (and I felt like it was just for me) – and then use it to totally speak help and encouragement to someone else! That’s SO GREAT! We will be a help and support to each other as we journey together in our attempt to love on people and make our world a better place 🙂

Leave a comment

diana iannarone

Wake Up. Stand Up. Live Free. A Perceptual Approach to Rapid Growth and Permanent Change

The Devotion Cafe'

Be Encourage

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

The Fickle Heartbeat

A blog about love or lack thereof

knitting soul

turning the knots into something beautiful

Kristi Ann's Haven

JESUS-YESHUA SAVES YE ALL!!

Jamaica Homes | Real Estate Listings in Jamaica

Discover premier Jamaica real estate listings with Jamaica Homes. Explore a curated selection of properties for sale, including development and investment options. Unlock your dream home or investment potential with our expert guidance. Secure your piece of paradise today!

The Light Post

Scott & Christina Graff

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

iwedplanner wedding vendors

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Life Project Blog

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

Chickens Bring Peace to the Earth

Slow down, pray, make better choices

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

FOGwalkerBirdie

Walking in the Favor Of God

PROPEL STEPS

Education is Everything

Upside DIY

Born from the love of, "Do It Yourself" attitude!

Soul Access

LAY DOWN YOUR MASK AND BE KNOWN BELOVED

Traveling with Thomas

Follow me as I study in London and travel Europe

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

I will shatter a word and scatter the contents into the wind to share it with the world.

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Ed Mooney Photography

The official blog of Ed Mooney Photography. Dad of 3, Photographer, Martial Artist, Gym Rat & Blogger. Exploring the historical sites of Ireland.

MyCreativeHaven

”Art washes from the soul the dust of everyday life.” -- Picasso.

gabrielsfury

poems & stories, thoughts about people and places between moments of clarity, or not.

Reowr

Poetry that purrs. It's reowr because the cat said so.

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

The Low Low Style

Sustainable-ish Style, Secondhand, Small, Size-Inclusive

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

allmostrelevant

@allmostrelevant

My Good Time Stories

Inspirational, Motivational, and Heartwarming Stories

STEAL MY POETRY

All things unpublishable.

Book of Mohs

The adventures of an softhearted father

Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

Unshakable Hope

"All of creation will be shaken and removed, so that only unshakable things will remain." (Hebrews 12:27)

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.