Musings From A Musical Mind

The Stingy Psalm

Lord

I will Bless Your Name

Because you are worthy of the praise

Not because I feel like it

Not even because I am worthy to praise you

No

I will do it because You are far above me

You see things differently than me

I am limited

You are not

I see today – and the past behind me

You see all of it at once

the past – the present – the future

And you are unmoved

Unchanged by time

I feel

I cry

I react

I digress

I stumble

I fail

I need

I need

I need

 

But you are unchanged

You are

You are still the same

You require all of me

all the time

 

And so I pick myself up

I resist

I am compelled

I am convicted

I offer up

a sacrifice of praise

even when I don’t feel like it

even when things are not well in my world

especially then

because you are Holy

You are deserving

always

No matter what

You are

and I will praise You

 

Help me Lord to praise You – even when I don’t feel like it – because it is the right thing to do – help me to say – “whatever it takes” – knowing this is a scary prayer to pray.  Help me to always live in constant praise, knowing that true joy and peace come by offering that sacrifice of praise.  Help me let go of myself – and just see You.  Help me to trust you with my whole life – every aspect – every feeling and emotion – every action – every motive.  For in letting go – that is where I truly find You waiting for me….

Comments on: "The Stingy Psalm" (10)

  1. Lovely – very nice!

  2. Very good! I like it!

  3. You are so talented!

  4. debi verwers said:

    Knowing God is in control when I have no idea what is going to happen next brings a peace I don’t understand!! God see’s the bigger picture….I just need to walk out the next indicated step. “I will praise him in the storm” “Though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death you are with me” “My God shall supply all my needs according to his riches” “I will fear NO evil for thou art with me” “I Can do All things through Christ who gives me strength” ”

    Praying God’s will not mine means I have to let go and let God. I have to give up control…that did scare me but then daily God shows me I don’t need control, that when I step in the way I slow down what God can do!

    Letting go and praising God brings peace, when I feel that churning in my stomach I just say Jesus….are you there? And the peace sets in. “You lead me beside still waters”

    It takes a while sometimes to calm a storm but we can rest in the knowledge that Jesus is in the storm with us. I am learning to lean on God, even though the storm started out really bad it has calmed inside me a lot. It still looks really bad and can get worse in some way’s but God has given his peace to me and I am praising him in the storm, with the waves, wind and rain!!

    Thanks Cindy for challenging me to remember to praise God in the storm and to know he see’s past, present and Future! Also for reminding to to give my feeling’s, emotions, actions and Motives to him in the storm….”I WILL Praise Him In The Storm!”

  5. Denise Gormley said:

    It’s only a scary prayer because of the unknown. When you are in the midst of the “whatever” its amazingly calm and peaceful. Because He has promised “perfect love drives away ALL fear.” You can take Him at His word with ALL of His promises. I love that about Him!!

Leave a comment

diana iannarone

Wake Up. Stand Up. Live Free. A Perceptual Approach to Rapid Growth and Permanent Change

The Devotion Cafe'

Be Encourage

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

The Fickle Heartbeat

A blog about love or lack thereof

knitting soul

turning the knots into something beautiful

Kristi Ann's Haven

JESUS-YESHUA SAVES YE ALL!!

Jamaica Homes | Real Estate Listings in Jamaica

Discover premier Jamaica real estate listings with Jamaica Homes. Explore a curated selection of properties for sale, including development and investment options. Unlock your dream home or investment potential with our expert guidance. Secure your piece of paradise today!

The Light Post

Scott & Christina Graff

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

iwedplanner wedding vendors

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Life Project Blog

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

Chickens Bring Peace to the Earth

Slow down, pray, make better choices

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

FOGwalkerBirdie

Walking in the Favor Of God

PROPEL STEPS

Education is Everything

Upside DIY

Born from the love of, "Do It Yourself" attitude!

Soul Access

LAY DOWN YOUR MASK AND BE KNOWN BELOVED

Traveling with Thomas

Follow me as I study in London and travel Europe

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

I will shatter a word and scatter the contents into the wind to share it with the world.

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Ed Mooney Photography

The official blog of Ed Mooney Photography. Dad of 3, Photographer, Martial Artist, Gym Rat & Blogger. Exploring the historical sites of Ireland.

MyCreativeHaven

”Art washes from the soul the dust of everyday life.” -- Picasso.

gabrielsfury

poems & stories, thoughts about people and places between moments of clarity, or not.

Reowr

Poetry that purrs. It's reowr because the cat said so.

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

The Low Low Style

Sustainable-ish Style, Secondhand, Small, Size-Inclusive

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

allmostrelevant

@allmostrelevant

My Good Time Stories

Inspirational, Motivational, and Heartwarming Stories

STEAL MY POETRY

All things unpublishable.

Book of Mohs

The adventures of an softhearted father

Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

Unshakable Hope

"All of creation will be shaken and removed, so that only unshakable things will remain." (Hebrews 12:27)

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.