Musings From A Musical Mind

Thoughts

Inside my mind I live a life

Where thoughts knock at the door

find the deep recesses of my mind

and fertile ground to explore

I size them up – look hard at each one

begin to let my guard down

gradually weaken

and beckon them to come

They are dark and mysterious

enticing in their ploy

I weakly protest, “not fair – not fair”!

All the while knowing they will destroy

They find a willing participant

someone who tries to hide

denying they have any hold

and pushing away – or so I’ve tried

It is a constant struggle

to ignore the “thoughts” of this menacing foe

knowing that just because they are present

does not make the “event”  necessarily so

I’ve become so cozy with these “friends” of mine

too lazy to push them out – and wave good-bye

they are an unrelenting presence

happy in their efforts to “bring me down” and make me cry

This is the struggle I face

keeping the dark thoughts “at bay”

while trying to focus on life and health

and push the “dark” ones away

“Help me Lord” – I pray

To gather up the strength from You

To fight the “unseen” enemy inside my head

Cleanse my mind – and to renew

When those “thoughts” come knocking

May they find – to their surprise

No “safe” place to make their home

A closed door policy – FOREVER  – for their lies.

I am forever washing my mind

searching every corner with care

scrubbing and cleaning the deep recesses

for a special “guest” to permanently reside there

God Bless ♥

Comments on: "Thoughts" (6)

  1. Those dark thoughts are a bit like burglars; they sneak in when we aren’t watching.
    I think nobody is completely free of them, Cindy. It’s just that some of us might have better “locks” on the doors of our minds.
    Sometimes I can see and hear them coming and I quickly close that door; locking it behind me so they can’t come in. It’s hard work though, at times. 🙂

  2. Greg Holman said:

    I love your authenticity Cindy!
    If we’re honest with ourselves, I think all of us struggle with thoughts that aren’t always positive and rosey. The darker ones always want to sink down and anchor themselves deep within us, rising to the surface like some creature from the ocean depths, then sinking back down again after causing a turmoil.
    I too like you need the constant cleansing of prayer and the word of God to keep them from making a permanent home in my heart. Just because I experience some of these thoughts doesn’t mean I need to provide them safe quarter!
    Greg

  3. I really like the rhythm and flow of this, Cindy. Great mental pictures. It emotes! I, for one, can relate. Very powerful this working of the inner mind. I too am “so cozy with these ‘friends'”. Ouch…but thanks! Something to “chew” on today.

    • Thanks Ron – it’s a journey, isn’t it? Your poetry gives me much to “chew on” too – and most of the time my response is pretty much the same as yours – OUCH!! Nice to know we aren’t alone, isn’t it?

Leave a comment

diana iannarone

Wake Up. Stand Up. Live Free. A Perceptual Approach to Rapid Growth and Permanent Change

The Devotion Cafe'

Be Encourage

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

The Fickle Heartbeat

A blog about love or lack thereof

knitting soul

turning the knots into something beautiful

Kristi Ann's Haven

JESUS-YESHUA SAVES YE ALL!!

Jamaica Homes | Real Estate Listings in Jamaica

Discover premier Jamaica real estate listings with Jamaica Homes. Explore a curated selection of properties for sale, including development and investment options. Unlock your dream home or investment potential with our expert guidance. Secure your piece of paradise today!

The Light Post

Scott & Christina Graff

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

iwedplanner wedding vendors

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Life Project Blog

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

Chickens Bring Peace to the Earth

Slow down, pray, make better choices

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

FOGwalkerBirdie

Walking in the Favor Of God

PROPEL STEPS

Education is Everything

Upside DIY

Born from the love of, "Do It Yourself" attitude!

Soul Access

LAY DOWN YOUR MASK AND BE KNOWN BELOVED

Traveling with Thomas

Follow me as I study in London and travel Europe

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

I will shatter a word and scatter the contents into the wind to share it with the world.

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Ed Mooney Photography

The official blog of Ed Mooney Photography. Dad of 3, Photographer, Martial Artist, Gym Rat & Blogger. Exploring the historical sites of Ireland.

MyCreativeHaven

”Art washes from the soul the dust of everyday life.” -- Picasso.

gabrielsfury

poems & stories, thoughts about people and places between moments of clarity, or not.

Reowr

Poetry that purrs. It's reowr because the cat said so.

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

The Low Low Style

Sustainable-ish Style, Secondhand, Small, Size-Inclusive

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

allmostrelevant

@allmostrelevant

My Good Time Stories

Inspirational, Motivational, and Heartwarming Stories

STEAL MY POETRY

All things unpublishable.

Book of Mohs

The adventures of an softhearted father

Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

Unshakable Hope

"All of creation will be shaken and removed, so that only unshakable things will remain." (Hebrews 12:27)

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.