Musings From A Musical Mind

Dreams And Schemes

I had a disturbing dream last night.  I was singing in a mass choir – we had a new director and he had to leave for several minutes – leaving someone else in charge temporarily.  What was done next I am not sure – because in the dream I was out of “earshot” and left for a few moments – but when I got back in the room where rehearsal was going on – the choir was learning choreography to a song we had just learned.  It was even going to be an audience participation number.  I thought – “great – hope I know all the moves so I’m not embarrassed”   Someone next to me patiently explained all the moves and I felt fine.   Performance time came – we got up to perform our song – the real director was back on stage with us and we began…I started doing the choreography and a couple of rows of people in the audience too – NO ONE ELSE.  The director was horrified – he looked at me – then turned around and looked at the ones in the audience too.  The song stopped – I was embarrassed – the audience was embarrassed – as this turned out to be an elaborate “hoax” and was meant to undermine the real director and humiliate him in front of an audience.  I remember talking with him afterward and assuring him I had NO idea that this had been a “setup” and that I was sure sorry – I mean – WHO would do something like that?  And in public?  Why would someone want to “bring him down a peg”?  It was disturbing – petty and small.

I was still thinking about that dream when I woke up this morning – and was looking at some of the blogs my friends have written today and was intrigued by an article my good friend JoJo Tabares had written – on just this subject – people being cruel – small minded and petty – just because they can.  Here is the article:  http://artofeloquence.com/blog/rush-to-hatred

It is especially hard to understand when Christians feel this way – and wish harm, humiliation or embarrassment on other people.

Have you ever had this done to you?  The answer will always come back – YES!!!   I’m sure MANY times over your lifetime.   Maybe not in a way that is in public – but we have all felt betrayal – mean spirited individuals that try to “bring us down a peg”  and those that seem to have it in for us.  I have had it happen – people embarrassing me – I have even had a situation where I had trusted someone with my words only to have conversations that were meant to be private – be brought out in PUBLIC  – twisting my words and making me look like an idiot.  I’ve been betrayed by a good friend – someone I trusted – and this hurt and humiliation is doubly sharp when you were open, loving and authentic with them – and the only thing I can figure is that “hurting people – hurt people”.  Our responsibility is NOT to retaliate – God judges our heart and motives – and we cannot carry around the hurtful things that others do to us.  No – we must forgive.  And in the end – God himself will hold us accountable for how we treated others – not the other way around.

I wish I had the answers for WHY people behave like this – why those we love and thought loved us would treat us so badly.  We expect it from those that are not walking in a relationship with the Lord as their Savior – but what about those that are?

Are you in to “President Bashing”?  I would think again – if you’re a Christian.  The Bible clearly says that it is God himself who sets up those that are in authority over us – and that it is our responsibility as a believer to PRAY for them.  Can our voice be heard?  Absolutely!!!  But our words should be respectful and kind – Christ like – we SHOULD lead by our example of love and grace.  We need to have more Christians like this in our world – so we CAN turn things around – and get others to follow our lead.  We should be the most encouraging, loving and positive people in the world!  I want to live in a world like this, don’t you?

If you have been treated unkindly – by any of the things mentioned above then you know first hand how damaging it is!  Start taking steps to turn it around!  Be the first to walk away from a negative conversation – “bashing” of another and stand up for what is positive and right.  Defend people – d0n’t be a part of petty schemes to embarrass and bring people down – EVEN if you think they deserve it.  Even if someone has hurt you.  Even then.  God is our judge – only Him.  Let Him do the job that is rightfully His.  Be a good friend.  Be someone others come to – to hear loving, encouraging words.  Words of health and life.  Be that dependable, trustworthy friend to others around you.  Slow to anger – slow to retaliate – Quick to listen and forgive.

Just something to think about today.

God Bless

Comments on: "Dreams And Schemes" (10)

  1. mayablogs said:

    I have a very short answer on this one, Cindy:

    If someone deliberately wants to hurt others, physically or emotionally they’re losers. And I mean literally: They lose respect of others and of God. They might think they’re popular, but they’re not. Other people will see it and shy away from such a negative person.

    Thankfully there are positive people as well, who have exactly the opposite outlook on life (yes, like you dear Cindy. 🙂 ) and want to make this world a better place by sending out kindness.

    • Thanks Maya! Your comment made me cry – I’m so greatful for real friends in my life 🙂

      • mayablogs said:

        Oh no, please don’t cry Cindy…that was the last thing I wanted to achieve with my comment!

        You’ll be my friend for as long as you want me to be. 🙂

      • No worries – they were good tears! Just nice to know that someone “gets” it 🙂 Thanks Maya – I appreciate your sincere friendship!

  2. You are very right, Cindy. “Hurting people – hurt people.” Likewise, Christ’s followers, instead of offering a counter culture of healing and wholeness from hurts, often are the source of more hurts and wounds. In the end, our “church culture” does not appear to be any different than the rest of the world’s culture.

    • Yes that’s it! We are more “spiritual” therefore can do more damage because we are supposed to be Christ like and we aren’t. It’s happened way too much. Our Pastor used to say, “stupid is as stupid does”

  3. Amen and Amen! It saddens me to see someone do this but what upsets me most is when it’s done by someone who says they are a Christian. So many non Christians are looking at us to see what it means to be a Christian. When they see this, they say to themselves or out loud even, “If that’s a Christian, I sure don’t want to be one!” It’s important that we are a good loving example of Jesus so folks look at us instead and say, “Wow! She has what I want.”

  4. It certainly is food for thought. Thank you. I will definitely be quick to listen and forgive. Have a great rest of the week.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

diana iannarone

Wake Up. Stand Up. Live Free. A Perceptual Approach to Rapid Growth and Permanent Change

Fallen Pastor

Helping fallen pastors and those affected by a fall from ministry

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

The Devotion Cafe'

Love and Empowerment

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Heart Club Band

⃟ What a strange world we live in... ⃟

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

The Fickle Heartbeat

A blog about love or lack thereof

knitting soul

turning the knots into something beautiful

Kristi Ann's Haven

Jesus ( Yeshua) Saves!!

PROJECT: A Journal for Project Management

Project is a journal for project managers to express their ideas and share their work through writing, conversation, design and image

The Light Post

Scott & Christina Graff

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

iwedplanner wedding vendors

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

Chickens Bring Peace to the Earth

Slow down, pray, make better choices

incomingfeed.wordpress.com/

Feed Only via TSS Team

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

FOGwalkerBirdie

Walking in the Favor Of God

PROPEL STEPS

Education is Everything

GIFT FROM THE HEART - Share and Care!

Appreciation, Respect and Gratitude towards all...... that there is!

Upside DIY

Born from the love of, "Do It Yourself" attitude!

Soul Access

LAY DOWN YOUR MASK AND BE KNOWN BELOVED

Traveling with Thomas

Follow me as I study in London and travel Europe

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Mercy Not Sacrifice

The Blog of Morgan Guyton

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Stealing Kisses & Making Mistakes.

Following God's path while stumbling through this world with a heart of a woman.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Ed Mooney Photography

The home of Kildare based Photographer, Blogger and self proclaimed Ruinhunter.

MyCreativeHaven

”Art washes from the soul the dust of everyday life.” -- Picasso.

gabrielsfury

poems & stories, thoughts about people and places between moments of clarity, or not.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

