Musings From A Musical Mind

On Monday – Greg and I joined a gym.  It’s the first time for Greg – the second for me.  I belonged to “Curves” for 2 years – and then got bored as many do – when you do the same thing for that long.  Last year was a very stressful “new season” of our lives – which included my husband quitting his job after 13 years at the same church – and our daughter getting married.  We were just trying to make his “new business” get off the ground – and get our daughter married off – there was little time to really have a good and regular “workout” routine.  I am also a “fair weather” walker – and living in Seattle – well….you get the idea.  My husband had been very regular about his workouts on his treadmill – until it broke several months ago.  I hadn’t gone near the stupid thing since over a year ago falling off of it – yeah – it wasn’t pretty.  The thing ended up traumatizing me and I haven’t wanted anything to do with it since.

So….we really needed to get WITH IT!!!  And get back into the program.  There is a pretty new LA Fitness in our area – complete with all the “state of the art” equipment – a swimming pool – sauna – and my personal favorite – the HOT TUB!!!   Oh yes.  I plan to spend some time in that FOR SURE!!!  I am even going to take a Zumba class that my friend, Jackie leads.  My daughter and I will dance our way to fitness – if it KILLS US.  And for me – it probably will.

Today Greg and I went in and had a consult with a personal trainer (a most impressive young man who used to play for the Seahawks – until he was injured) who showed us how to use the equipment and what workouts would be the best for us – working weights on 3 different days a week and allowing muscle groups to rest in between – cardio everyday after weights.  He was very nice and VERY patient – I can assure you – it is difficult to show me anything – as I have a million questions and think everything and everyone is HILARIOUS!  But being as we cannot afford a personal trainer – wow are they EXPENSIVE!!! – we wanted to find out all we could FOR FREE and so he was kind enough to write down many things for us to try – and we will be taking all his suggestions to heart.

Greg and I plan to do this together.  There is NO WAY I’m going to the club by myself with all the interesting guys in there – and I’m not really all that comfortable with the whole “weight training” thing – it will be helpful to have my big handsome husband to look out for me – and the sleazy guys ☺If there are any.  I plan to use the elliptical – instead of the treadmill (for the above stated reason) for cardio – my daughter LOVES the bike – but I’m not sure it I will. There is a cycling class that apparently will kick your behind!  Not sure I’m ready for that ☺

It all seems a bit overwhelming – but I’m looking forward to trying it – and seeing the results too♥  The water aerobics seem fun too.  There was only one guy and about 40 women in the class this morning.  Greg says he thinks the guy will be back ☺

Have a great day!

God Bless

Comments on: "Getting In Shape LA Fitness Style" (16)

  1. I’ve seen “Zumba” on TV and it looks like fun, Cindy! It’s kind of dancing isn’t it?
    Well, good luck with your exercises!:)

  2. This is so funny. I’m sure that guy will be back to water aerobics, too. I’m just wondering. How does one fall off a treadmill? Forget to keep walking or running? I miss being able to work out two or three times a week. I know if I ever get back to the gym I’m going to be really sore for the first month or so. Once you work past the soreness, however, you always feel better. I know I always do. And you’re right. It really helps with the stress and handling the stress. I know it really helped with my sleeping and back problems. Beyond walking, Kelly really does not like working out at all. So, we’ll occasionally take walks together. And you are right, even a good walk around the block is getting out and moving, which is good for everyone. It’s one reason I love the Tri-Cities, more often than not we have really good weather. Plus, I like walking along the river. So, good job to both of you! Keep at it!

    • Okay – I really DID fall off the stupid thing – go ahead – have your laugh! And I WAS running on it at the time – thank you VERY MUCH! I went to close to the edge – or in that case I think it was backing up too far while I was running and caught an “edge” that wasn’t moving – well – you get the picture. It sort of “threw” me off. Nasty machine. I’m lucky I didn’t get hurt – the treadmill is in the garage and on the cement – so – yeah. Ouch. But the guys in my house and even a couple of my “guy” friends had a very good laugh at my expense over this – it happened over a year ago. ☺ You and Kelly need to join a gym together! If we can do it – then you guys can too! We love our walks too – and we play golf. Being active together is really great – and I know you guys love that!

      • Oooo…that does sound painful…cement garage floor. Kelly is not into the gym work out AT ALL. She’s not the athletic type…golf is out. Though I took along a couple times and putted the greens. I’m afraid we’ll have to stick to our walks together, but that’s OK. Meanwhile, I’m looking forward to being able to get back in the gym. I belonged to “Snap Fitness” in Grand Forks and really liked it. Always open and almost always on my own. I really don’t like other people around – men or women.

      • Greg doesn’t like working out around anybody else either – you guys are alike in that area ☺ I’d like to know how Kelly stays so thin and in shape without doing ANYTHING!! My best friend doesn’t do anything either and she’s like a size 2. It’s really sickening. It’s just WRONG. Meanwhile I will struggle with the “extra” pounds and joining a gym and a Zumba class with my daughter (I start tonight) seemed a good solution for me – at least I can say I’m trying!!

  3. You all have much more energy than I! Just reading this made me tired. lol I commend you all on your determination. Kuddos!

    I have never been able to exercise–even when I was a teen. I’d get so tired, I felt like a truck ran over me. I think it might be related to my thyroid problems. Now that my thyroid is so messed up, I am not even able to walk much anymore. Just so incredibly tired.

    • I’m so sorry JoJo! I’ve never been a big fitness nut either – I just know it’s so good for me to stay active – I tend to get tension headaches and know I need to strengthen my back and neck – stay loose. Also my core is very weak too – all good things to keep up the maintenance on. Have you just tried a good brisk walk around your neighborhood when it’s not too hot? Does wonders for me – I take my iPod and have a nice walk – at least it’s doing SOMETHING – that’s what I always figured ♥

      • I’m afraid even walking can be too much. I have an enlarged thyroid, fibromyalgia, insomnia and some other issues. I think they are all related to my thyroid but I always test negative. I hear that 40% of the population has a thyroid issue but that only 10% test positive for it. I’ve been like this for about 10-15 years. Maybe longer. Just can’t get anyone to help. When we had insurance, the drs just left me alone. Now that we don’t it’s getting so bad that I can hardly function some times. Looking for a dr who will actually help and not just charge me for tests and leave me alone. I’m only 47 yrs old but I often feel like I’m 90.

  4. That’s great cindy. I will be at Curves 4 years this October and I do get bored. I like the idea of not having men around when I exercise and that’s why I stay with Curves. Enjoy your workouts and take it one day at a time. Have a great rest of the week.

    • How can you stay there 4 years? Wow – that’s amazing! If you go with your husband it’s not so bad – maybe you can convince him someday to join you!

  5. We joined the Y and I’ve been taking advantage of their gym. I sure feel it too. I will be happy later on when I’ve lost the pounds and gotten stronger but right now, I’m a bawling baby. Ouch!

  6. You have such courage, my sister. I am loving your blog and your adventures with your husband. Whatever the last brought for you, it has livened your spirit like crazy! Thank you for your transparency and boldness to step out of your comfort zone…its certainly an encouragement to me as I work on sweeping my temple.. You go girl!

    • Thanks Brenda – Greg is a very patient man – that’s for sure! And we are looking forward to this next step to get into shape – it will probably make me REALLY sore – as I’m terribly out of shape – but I will try if it kills me!!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

diana iannarone

Wake Up. Stand Up. Live Free. A Perceptual Approach to Rapid Growth and Permanent Change

Fallen Pastor

Helping fallen pastors and those affected by a fall from ministry

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

The Devotion Cafe'

Love and Empowerment

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Heart Club Band

⃟ What a strange world we live in... ⃟

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

The Fickle Heartbeat

A blog about love or lack thereof

knitting soul

turning the knots into something beautiful

Kristi Ann's Haven

Jesus ( Yeshua) Saves!!

Godinterest Blog

All God-centered articles and blog posts from Godinterest

The Light Post

Scott & Christina Graff

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

iwedplanner wedding vendors

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

Chickens Bring Peace to the Earth

Slow down, pray, make better choices

incomingfeed.wordpress.com/

Feed Only via TSS Team

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

FOGwalkerBirdie

Walking in the Favor Of God

PROPEL STEPS

Education is Everything

GIFT FROM THE HEART - Share and Care!

Appreciation, Respect and Gratitude towards all...... that there is!

Upside DIY

Born from the love of, "Do It Yourself" attitude!

Soul Access

LAY DOWN YOUR MASK AND BE KNOWN BELOVED

Traveling with Thomas

Follow me as I study in London and travel Europe

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Mercy Not Sacrifice

The Blog of Morgan Guyton

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Stealing Kisses & Making Mistakes.

Following God's path while stumbling through this world with a heart of a woman.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Ed Mooney Photography

The home of Kildare based Photographer, Blogger and self proclaimed Ruinhunter.

MyCreativeHaven

”Art washes from the soul the dust of everyday life.” -- Picasso.

gabrielsfury

poems & stories, thoughts about people and places between moments of clarity, or not.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

