Musings From A Musical Mind

My Tree

Jeremiah 17:7-8

“But blessed is the man who trusts in the LORD, whose confidence is in him. He will be like a tree planted by the water that sends out its roots by the stream. It does not fear when heat comes; its leaves are always green. It has no worries in a year of drought and never fails to bear fruit.”

I LOVE trees.  I can stare at them forever.  They mesmerize me.  Each one is so different – unique and beautiful in its own way.  I love what Jeremiah had to say about those of us who “trust in the Lord” – comparing us to trees – special trees planted by the water.  Knowing that those trees are near a water source – they never have to fear the heat from the sun or even lack of rain causing a serious drought  – these trees always bear fruit – no matter what.

As we press into God and plant ourselves near to Him – we can relax.  We don’t have to keep looking around for a “water source”.  We are contented and never thirsty for other things that the world has to offer us.  He is our never ending “supply”.  He fills us up.  Even when we go through times of “heat” and “drought” – as we often do in this life.  And unfortunately –  no one escapes it.  Everyone of us will experience health issues and family situations – and even loss.  We will go through painful experiences and lonely times.  We will wonder what has happened to us at times.  But if we have spread our roots out in search of His never ending supply of strength and mercy  – we will find something else waiting for us – a deep joy and peace that come from belonging to – and living under His protection over our lives.  Even in the storms of life.  Even in the “dark night of the soul” times.  Even in grief.  Even in heartache.  Even in silence.  Even in waiting.  Yes – even then.

I would love to say that I live in that place with no worries – but sadly – I am still on a journey – and on that journey I have experienced things that have brought me to my knees, wondering at times – where God was.  Or worse – it was during those times – that I found Him to be silent and distant.  But I knew He was still there.  I had His word to remind me – and others in my life that encouraged me on a daily basis.  God used people in my life to bless me – when I thought all hope was gone at times.  When it felt like my own personal loss would swallow me – He sent strong friends to me – and it was through them that I heard His voice to me once more whispering my name  – and it was through them – that I learned He had not abandoned me.   And It was during this dark time that I leaned more and more on that knowledge that  God was still there for me – my source of strength and supply of living water – during the biggest drought and most intense heat of my life.

Are you in the middle of your own personal intense  heat and drought today?  Are you experiencing things you never have before and wonder if you can make it through?

I am praying for each of you today – that you will  find Him there for you when going through your own journey of questions and trials.  That you will spread out the roots of your own “tree” and find a rich supply of living water waiting for you there – never ending – refreshing – pure and satisfying.  As you stay close to the source.  As you stay close to Him.

God Bless

Comments on: "My Tree" (8)

  1. Ah…”trust” and “confidence”…where is it place or in whom is it placed? Isn’t that the question we wrestle with everyday? I know I do, especially since being in the middle of a career change and wondering “what I’m going to do” next. For men, what they “do” defines them and gives them identity – as much as we spiritual ones would like to deny it. Digging deep to secure my trust and confidence in something or Someone outside myself and larger than my life and its circumstances is a constant challenge, I find. Left to my own, I’m often not strong enough to drum up my own faith. I need his Spirit at work within me to help me find the strength to believe, trust, and have confidence in his Word and presence. It is a journey…thanks for sharing part of yours with us.

    • You are right – women define themselves in terms of “relationships” – not so much what we do. Our whole essence spins around the people in our lives – family and friends who share common interests and understanding on a deep level is so important to us. To have people that UNDERSTAND us and validate us. My faith has never been really shaken to the point where I didn’t believe anymore – or even believe that God didn’t care or love me – my struggle is when good friends turn away – those that said they loved me and cared. There’s no greater sadness. It has rocked my whole world – but on the positive side – I’ve found out what true friendship is – and what I’ve lost – or thought I had – seems to dim in comparison to what I’ve gained. Friends who are on a similar journey as mine – and who understand completely – knowing – without “knowing” Thanks Ron.

  2. Hi Cindy, thanks for your nice comment on my blog and yes I am hanging in there. Very nice post and uplifting. Take care.

  3. Beautiful picture and thoughts!

  4. Carol Johnson said:

    Thank’s for sharing Cindy from your heart that was good to read!
    Take care, Carol Johnson

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

diana iannarone

Wake Up. Stand Up. Live Free. A Perceptual Approach to Rapid Growth and Permanent Change

Fallen Pastor

Helping fallen pastors and those affected by a fall from ministry

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

The Devotion Cafe'

Love and Empowerment

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Heart Club Band

⃟ What a strange world we live in... ⃟

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

The Fickle Heartbeat

A blog about love or lack thereof

knitting soul

turning the knots into something beautiful

Kristi Ann's Haven

Jesus ( Yeshua) Saves!!

GODINTEREST - Christian magazine covering faith, culture and life

Godinterest is a place to talk about God, Culture, Life and all that other stuff

The Light Post

Scott & Christina Graff

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

iwedplanner wedding vendors

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

Chickens Bring Peace to the Earth

Slow down, pray, make better choices

incomingfeed.wordpress.com/

Feed Only via TSS Team

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

FOGwalkerBirdie

Walking in the Favor Of God

PROPEL STEPS

Education is Everything

GIFT FROM THE HEART - Share and Care!

Appreciation, Respect and Gratitude towards all...... that there is!

Upside DIY

Born from the love of, "Do It Yourself" attitude!

Soul Access

LAY DOWN YOUR MASK AND BE KNOWN BELOVED

Traveling with Thomas

Follow me as I study in London and travel Europe

HarsH ReaLiTy

My goal with this blog is to offend everyone in the world at least once with my words… so no one has a reason to have a heightened sense of themselves. We are all ignorant, we are all found wanting, we are all bad people sometimes.

Mercy Not Sacrifice

The Blog of Morgan Guyton

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Stealing Kisses & Making Mistakes.

Following God's path while stumbling through this world with a heart of a woman.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Ed Mooney Photography

The home of Kildare based Photographer, Blogger and self proclaimed Ruinhunter.

MyCreativeHaven

”Art washes from the soul the dust of everyday life.” -- Picasso.

gabrielsfury

poems & stories, thoughts about people and places between moments of clarity, or not.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

