Musings From A Musical Mind

Adventures At The Gym

A few weeks ago I FINALLY learned how to program the treadmill at the gym where Greg and I belong.  Everything is “state of the art” equipment – and it SHOULD be user friendly – but unfortunately it did not have ME in mind.  Not that I’m some “dumb bunny” – I can figure my way around computer programs – I’ve even taught myself some things without ANY help from anybody – and though it did take me longer to figure it out than most – at least I DID figure it out eventually and am quite proud of myself.  One such program was a complicated music software program.  It took a while to get my digital piano and computer to “play nice” together – but they finally did – with a gentle nudge or two.  And I’ve figured out other things on the internet myself too – and even have an iPhone which you have to be able to navigate around on – so I’m very proud of my achievements – and yes – I LOVE the iPod on it – the music through my earphones is SO CLEAR!!

So needless to say – I felt quite qualified to “program” the cardio equipment.  I would not say that I had a “proud” spirit – but I was confident. So began my journey into the bleak “unknown” of things I have NO IDEA about.  I stepped onto the elliptical machine the first day we were there – and although Greg seemed adept and able to program his machine – I could NOT program mine.  Nothing worked – and I just ended up going manual.  The next time we were at the gym (not one to give up easily) I tried another machine, thinking that I was just having a rough day or something.  Same thing.  Nothing.  So I went manual again.

Then I decided to try the treadmill – I mean, after all – how hard could it be to program one of those?  Hmmmm.  I stepped on it and saw about 7 programs and I selected one.  Nothing.  I tried again.  Nothing.  So I again went manual – which is a pain because you have to keep going faster by selecting the speed yourself instead of it doing it automatically.  But being a “trooper” – I was not going to let anything get in the way of my workout – so push the buttons all through the workout – I did.

The next time at the gym I tried another elliptical – downstairs this time – right next to another on that Greg was on – and he again was successful – and AGAIN – I couldn’t program the stupid thing.  And to add insult to injury – the panel went completely BLANK!!  Greg said, “you broke it”  very funny.  He even made some  crack about how I just needed to pedal faster and maybe it would magically appear again – it didn’t – and I felt ridiculous.  So I came to a stop and went to the front desk and told a couple of the young guys behind the desk.  I’m sure they were thinking to themselves, “this poor lady doesn’t have a CLUE how to program the machine” – but they didn’t say so – and one of them came with me to the back of the gym where the machine was.  He had me jump on and start peddling – explaining that I wasn’t going FAST ENOUGH and that was probably why the panel didn’t light up.  Well I peddled and peddled and NOTHING.  So then it was determined that it needed a new battery – and off he went to put in a maintenance call.  It was really annoying.  I am NOT stupid – I just couldn’t get any of my machines to program correctly – or one that worked right!!!  So I gave up and moved to the bicycle next to the “broken” machine.  A few minutes later a man in his 40’s came over with a clip board and went right to the machine.  I was glad to see him and told him that it was the battery that needed to be replaced.  He nodded at me and seemed friendly and engaging – talking about the machine and this and that.  I asked him how long it would take to fix the machine – all the while peddling away – and he then told me, “Oh I’m not here to fix the machine – I was going to use it – but now that you tell me it’s broken I guess I won’t”  Oh brother.  I told him he looked official because of the clipboard and he said he always walks around with one.  Uh huh.  Great.

The next time we were at the gym – I went upstairs and tried another treadmill.  There was an older man on a treadmill a couple of machines down from me – and he saw that I was getting frustrated (as I always did when I couldn’t program the stupid thing) and he tried to give help and suggestions – but he clearly did NOT know how to do it either and just always went manual.  Why do some guys think they know everything – even when they don’t?  It was then that a very nice young woman came and asked me if she could help me – and I said, “PLEASE!!!”  She showed me something so simple – that I had totally missed all those times.  We got it up and running and I was all smiles – then the man said, “Did you get it?”  And I said, “YES!!”  I wonder what he thought about that – he didn’t even ask how to do it – just like a man!!

Well that’s all I know – it isn’t much – but at least I can program those machines now – and it’s the simple things in life that make me very happy ♥

God Bless

Comments on: "Adventures At The Gym" (4)

  1. Poor thing! I know how frustrating it can be not to know how something works, especially when you find it is so simple. I am HTML Illiterate and Technologically Challenged so, of course, I own an internet business selling eBooks and doing audio and internet seminars! For the past 7 years I have frustrated myself to the point where I finally can do things most people now take for granted and a few things beyond that. Due to my techie ignorance, I get myself into some messes that I need not have to deal with but I have learned a great deal along the way.

    Currently I am trying to figure out how to unsubscribe from two blogs. One no longer exists because blog owner deleted it, yet my Outlook tries to find it each time it downloads my email. The other is a blogspot.com blog where the owner posts only about once every 2 months but at that times posts about 35 posts! I can’t possibly read them all so I end up deleting them.

    If you know a blog wiz who can help me with this frustrating issue, please let me know.

    A fellow frustrated untechie!

    • Oh JoJo – I DIDN’T know all this about you? And we’ve talked online for about a year now! Well you hide it well and like you said – in spite of these limitations you have learned a great deal by just doing it! I feel the same way – WAY TO GO!!! No I don’t know how to unsubscribe to someone’s feed – I don’t ever do it because it clogs up my email for some reason – I just look at my side blog feed to see if anyone has posted a new post that day – I do it the old fashioned way ♥

  2. Too funny! Isn’t it amazing how much computer is required on those things today? Good grief…takes a NASA engineer to make them now and an MIT graduate to figure them out and write the owners manual. I can figure out most of them, but I’ve been on a few that were just too complicated to the point of ridiculous. So, I did what you did – just went manual. Smiled and ride. Smile and walk. Whatever it takes…

    • Greg says that I forgot to mention one thing that also happened in connection with the faulty machines – I couldn’t get my heart rate to register! I started on one machine – just thought I couldn’t program it right – then moved to another thinking I can at least get a heart rate, right? Nope. But I keep smiling – I’m doing the work – I’m “baby stepping” ☺ Remember the old “Back to the future” trilogy – where in the last one – one of the older guys sitting in the saloon says to Marty, “Run? For Fun?” Yeah – that’s just how I feel.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

diana iannarone

Wake Up. Stand Up. Live Free. A Perceptual Approach to Rapid Growth and Permanent Change

Fallen Pastor

Helping fallen pastors and those affected by a fall from ministry

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

The Devotion Cafe'

Love and Empowerment is the Foundation

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Heart Club Band

⃟ What a strange world we live in... ⃟

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

The Fickle Heartbeat

A blog about love or lack thereof

knitting soul

turning the knots into something beautiful

Kristi Ann's Haven

Jesus ( Yeshua) Saves!!

PROJECT: A Journal for Project Management

Project is a journal for project managers to express their ideas and share their work through writing, conversation, design and image

The Light Post

Scott & Christina Graff

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

iwedplanner wedding vendors

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

Chickens Bring Peace to the Earth

Slow down, pray, make better choices

incomingfeed.wordpress.com/

Feed Only via TSS Team

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

FOGwalkerBirdie

Walking in the Favor Of God

PROPEL STEPS

Education is Everything

GIFT FROM THE HEART - Share and Care!

Appreciation, Respect and Gratitude towards all...... that there is!

Upside DIY

Born from the love of, "Do It Yourself" attitude!

Soul Access

LAY DOWN YOUR MASK AND BE KNOWN BELOVED

Traveling with Thomas

Follow me as I study in London and travel Europe

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Mercy Not Sacrifice

The Blog of Morgan Guyton

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Stealing Kisses & Making Mistakes.

Following God's path while stumbling through this world with a heart of a woman.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Ed Mooney Photography

The home of Kildare based Photographer, Blogger and self proclaimed Ruinhunter.

MyCreativeHaven

”Art washes from the soul the dust of everyday life.” -- Picasso.

gabrielsfury

poems & stories, thoughts about people and places between moments of clarity, or not.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

