Musings From A Musical Mind

Maybe I’m Amazed

This last week Crystal sang this great Paul McCartney song on American Idol.  I’m so glad for this show – because it increases awareness of some of the ‘lost’ great classics from my generation.  I’ve loved this song for 35 years and those like it – and feel it’s worth hearing again and again.  Something great about these classics – they stand the test of time and you could hear the same song today and it would be brand new – well written and ageless. When I hear this song I am again back in my teenage years – when life was simple and carefree – this is one of the songs that makes up the soundtrack of my life.

Enjoy!

Maybe I’m amazed at the way you love me all the time
Maybe I’m afraid of the way I love you
Maybe I’m amazed at the way you pulled me out of time
You hung me on a line
Maybe I’m amazed at the way I really need you
Maybe I’m a man
Maybe I’m a lonely man who’s in the middle of something
That he doesn’t really understand
Maybe I’m a man, maybe you’re the only woman
Who could ever help me
Baby would you help me to understand
Maybe I’m a man
Maybe I’m a lonely man who’s in the middle of something
That he doesn’t really understand
Maybe I’m a man, and you’re the only woman
Who could ever help me
Baby would you help me to understand
Maybe I’m amazed at the way you’re with me all the time
Maybe I’m afraid of the way I need you
Maybe I’m amazed at the way you help me sing my song
You right me when I’m wrong
Maybe I’m amazed at the way I really need you
Won’t you help me to understand
Maybe I’m a man
Maybe I’m a lonely man who’s in the middle of something
That he doesn’t really understand
Maybe I’m a man, and you’re the only woman
Who could ever help me
Won’t you help me to understand
Oh baby I’m amazed
Oh baby I’m amazed
Yeah baby I’m amazed
Yeah yeah…, I’m amazed
I’m amazed with you

Comments on: "Maybe I’m Amazed" (8)

  1. You are right about Christian Music stations. There was one out of north Seattle – forget the call letters (Dwayne French worked there for a short stint) – that played Contemporary Christian mixed with “safe” secular music. It’s the only one I recall, unless you went AM and listened to old-timey music.

    I never was a big Gaither Vocal Band fan – not in the slightest. I did like Steve Green and Michael English when they went solo, though.

    Well, this did help. Though I am still wincing at the Petra bit. I loved them and still do. Oh well, to each their own, I guess…

    • My Pastor would LOVE you! He’s going to a Petra concert that’s coming to Seattle in October and posted the news of facebook just like a teenager would! He’s so cute! I’m sure there are a couple songs that I would remember and like, maybe. No Gaither Vocal Band? Oh my. I thought you were my friend. Unbelievable.

  2. WHAT?????!!!!!!! You wound me!! “There wasn’t any good contemporary Christian music in the 70’s”???? OUCH!

    Good grief. What about Sweet Comfort Band, Larry Norman, Keith Green, Barry McGuire, Gary S. Paxton, Leon Patillo, and…hello??….Petra!??

    What about David Meece, Jamie Owens-Colins, Amy Grant, Dan Peek, Dallas Holmes, the Imperials…annnnndd…The Rez Band?

    What about Church Girard, Nancy Honeytree, Randy Stonehill, and…hello??…Second Chapter of Acts??

    Unbelievable…

    Of course, never mind Bob Dylan, Al Green, The Archers, Scott Wesley Brown, Daniel Amos, Larnelle Harris, DeGarmo and Key, Andrea Crouch, Phil Driscoll, Isaac Airfreight, J.C. Power Outlet, Kansas, Phil Keaggy, Lamb, Steve Camp, Darrell Mansfield, Randy Matthews, Mustard Seed Faith, the Omartians, and many more (some OK and some not so good)….

    Ouch, Cindy, ouch…those are classics and some still remain my favorites. Too much of today’s contemporary Christian music sounds all the same. I loved the variety we had back then.

    (sigh)

    • Okay OKAY!!!! Hold on there! I see you’ve done your research – very thoroughly I might add!

      You are right – I did miss some Christian artists that I do really like. Part of the misconception (on my part) is that there were no good Christian radio stations in the 70’s that played these artists – at least that I ever found. Now you were raised in Seattle too – so you can probably correct me on that issue too. I listened to the ‘top 40’ on KJR – remember them? And I learned to love what was secular in nature – Toto, Chicago, Foreigner, Jefferson Starship, Mannilow, Super Tramp, Heart, Billy Joel, Elton John, James Taylor, and many many more. They are still my favorites today. It doesn’t mean that I didn’t love ‘Second Chapter of Acts’ – I had a cassette of “Mansion Builder” when I was a teenager and loved it. Remember “LoveSong” with “Little country Church”? I also had that cassette and wore it out. “What can you do with a love song – oo oo a love song?” Remember that?

      In the last year I have posted a youtube video from an earlier live concert of 2nd Chapter of Acts singing “Mansion Builder” it’s in my blog somewhere. Great nostalgia for sure! And about 2 years ago I found a site that was releasing the CD for “LoveSong” and I bought it. Great memories!!

      And you KNOW I love Keith Green – because I posted a song of his and you commented on it and said it brought back great memories for you too.

      But honestly – I didn’t listen to these people on the radio – did you? I did own some cassettes and records of them though. I was never a big fan of “Petra”. Our pastor LOVES them! He used to listen to a cassette of them while he was in the marines before he was saved – and credits his conversion experience with really listening and trying to understand the lyrics. It made a HUGE impact on his life. He thought they sounded a lot like Journey at first. (Sorry Pastor – I’m not a big fan)

      As far as the other people you mentioned – I owned several “Imperials” cassettes and “David Meece” – and all of Amy Grant’s. We both loved “Gaither Vocal Band” and when Steve Green was in the group at the beginning was the best as far as we’re concerned – maybe Michael English too.

      “Kansas” was a Christian group? Since when? Greg loved Dallas Holmes, Barry McGuire and Phil Keaggy. They were just Okay for me. I did like Scott Wesley Brown’s “This little Child” – I still have voice students sing it at Christmas time.

      I can see I touched your deep sensitive musical nerve with my article and I hope this rebuttal will help heal the pain 😉

  3. I’m torn about looking back. Yes it was a time of less stress and less complicated issues, but I was not a Christian then. My life has so much more meaning now and I really prefer to look ahead rather than look back. Looking back I see a girl who was lost and now I’m found. I prefer to listen to Christian music which constantly reminds me that I am His.

    • I’ve been a Christian my whole life JoJo – there wasn’t any good contemporary Christian music in the 70’s – trust me. The music today is much better – so many artists and styles – it wasn’t an option back then. I can understand how that would remind you of a time when you were still living another way – but for me and my other Christian friends – it was all we had – my youth pastor even loved ‘classic rock’. I have friends of mine today that have been Christians all their lives too and they share my love of 70’s music because it reminds us of our youth and a time of innocence and simple pleasures. I am instantly transported back in time and I’m safe doing it – because I came from a solid Christian home.

  4. I’ve always loved Sir Paul McCartney and I hear tell he will be in SF in the near future. I have to look up the date and see what the costs are. There’s only one time we would be able to see/hear him and if he’s in SF, I sure will make an effort to go. Great post and I like that your write down the words of songs.
    By the way, I haven’t been here because I have been having problems logging into your blog. Sometimes it just freezes up and doesn’t log in at all or it takes a very long time to log in. Today was a good day, I got in. Take care and have a great rest of the week.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

diana iannarone

Wake Up. Stand Up. Live Free. A Perceptual Approach to Rapid Growth and Permanent Change

Fallen Pastor

Helping fallen pastors and those affected by a fall from ministry

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

The Devotion Cafe'

Love and Empowerment

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Heart Club Band

⃟ What a strange world we live in... ⃟

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

The Fickle Heartbeat

A blog about love or lack thereof

knitting soul

turning the knots into something beautiful

Kristi Ann's Haven

Jesus ( Yeshua) Saves!!

GODINTEREST - Christian blog covering faith, culture and life

Godinterest is a place to talk about God, Culture, Life and all that other stuff

The Light Post

Scott & Christina Graff

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

iwedplanner wedding vendors

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

Chickens Bring Peace to the Earth

Slow down, pray, make better choices

incomingfeed.wordpress.com/

Feed Only via TSS Team

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

FOGwalkerBirdie

Walking in the Favor Of God

PROPEL STEPS

Education is Everything

GIFT FROM THE HEART - Share and Care!

Appreciation, Respect and Gratitude towards all...... that there is!

Upside DIY

Born from the love of, "Do It Yourself" attitude!

Soul Access

LAY DOWN YOUR MASK AND BE KNOWN BELOVED

Traveling with Thomas

Follow me as I study in London and travel Europe

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Mercy Not Sacrifice

The Blog of Morgan Guyton

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Stealing Kisses & Making Mistakes.

Following God's path while stumbling through this world with a heart of a woman.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Ed Mooney Photography

The home of Kildare based Photographer, Blogger and self proclaimed Ruinhunter.

MyCreativeHaven

”Art washes from the soul the dust of everyday life.” -- Picasso.

gabrielsfury

poems & stories, thoughts about people and places between moments of clarity, or not.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

