Musings From A Musical Mind

Self-Control

Inside my mind

I am who I am

living a life

unguarded and real

Fighting a battle

with myself

that all must fight

The right to have

the right to decide

the right to control

Many decisions

daily

hold me back

or push me forward

I play a game of chance

I love the thrill

and the rush

the intoxicating darkness

that whispers and calls

it is so easy to go there

But the pain

of choices

past

ruin

hinder

hold back

and rob me

of freedom

and joy

I tremble

and wait

for another unkind word

knowing it is well deserved

hiding

pulling away

from everyone

and myself

it is guilt

it is shame

I want to resist

for a while I am strong

I can do it

no trouble

no inward battle of my will

and then…

I am slowly seduced

by a memory

or a thought

or a ‘what if’

and the game begins

and I am the loser

once again

And so the song

echoes in my head

“I’m never going back again”

and I am firmly resolved

to be weak

and frail

helpless

and undone

It is only

with Christ Jesus

I am set free

I am in full control

my weakness is made strong

when I do not try to do it alone

He teaches me

that my self-control

is the secret to my happiness

the key to my future

the mystery of saying no

and resisting

I am the winner

Sin makes you a slave

Grace sets you free

gives you self-control

peace in your heart

and makes you strong

Better to be patient than powerful; better to have self-control than to conquer a city. Proverbs 16:32

I am praying for you today that you too will learn the secret of building ‘self control’ in your own life – so that your sin nature will not ‘own’ you – promising things that cannot be delivered.  In resisting and saying ‘no’ you embrace freedom – in surrendering to your weakness and losing your will – you will find it again.

God Bless

Comments on: "Self-Control" (8)

  1. The human struggle that St. Paul identifies in Romans 7 is a constant battle. Our only hope lies in Romans 8 – “living a life of led by the Spirit and not by the flesh.” Personally, I have found mere self-control a shaky thing to lean upon. What I need is Spirit-empowered control of my self – the carnal and fleshly nature. As long as I am pursuing the person and presence of God in His Spirit, I find that power available to me. However, when I become unplugged from it by distractions of this world, I am most vulnerable to not only the world’s temptations by the desires of the untamed self. Thankfully, when sin is at its worst at work in me, God’s grace is also there to set me free.

    • So true – How often I forget and try to do it on my own. I have great will power – for a time anyway. I’d be a great one for ‘kicking and addiction’ – if I had one – I am a pretty strong person – but there are some things that hit us where we are weak and unprotected to be sure. In those places I do not have any will power of my own and I’m thankful for God’s grace to help me with my ‘untamed self’. Thanks Ron!

  2. Thanks so much for sharing, Cindy. It is a battle, for sure. Self-control is thinking about the future. Living in the flesh is thinking about today only. One pays dividends, the other is a debt. I agree that self-control can only be accomplished in and through the Lord, and not ourselves. That almost sounds paradoxial, doesn’t it?

    • So true though. Our pastor spoke on this subject today – if we do not learn to control our selves we live in bondage and addiction – what we think will bring us freedom – acting on our own desires – will only bring us a life of debt – just as you said. It is important to learn to use self control with help from the Lord so that we will be free. Free from ourselves. This is the hardest lesson – I used to tell my kids, “Learn to discipline yourself – or someone else will do it for you” – it is a life lesson to learn to control ones self. Thanks Scott!

      • Isn’t that true about disciplining yourself. Being a kid with loving and caring parents is the best situation a person could ask for. Oftentimes kids don’t grasp a parent’s advice until they get older, but there are those who get it along the way–and that is so awesome. One of the things that I have discovered is to try and think about how my actions look when compared to what others are doing–is what I am doing causing red flags to raise? Or, is what I am doing calling attention to myself? It is better to be doing something so well that it is hardly even getting noticed (like a fine working machine). We love to get recognition, but when we are doing what we are supposed to life just goes much smoother.

        Paul said that if he was going to boast, it would be in the Lord. May we decrease so that Christ would increase!

      • Agreed! Thanks again Scott! You’re a blessing ☺

  3. Beautiful, Cindy!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

diana iannarone

Wake Up. Stand Up. Live Free. A Perceptual Approach to Rapid Growth and Permanent Change

Fallen Pastor

Helping fallen pastors and those affected by a fall from ministry

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

The Devotion Cafe'

Love and Empowerment

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Heart Club Band

⃟ What a strange world we live in... ⃟

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

The Fickle Heartbeat

A blog about love or lack thereof

knitting soul

turning the knots into something beautiful

Kristi Ann's Haven

Jesus ( Yeshua) Saves!!

GODINTEREST - Christian blog covering faith, culture and life

Godinterest is a place to talk about God, Culture, Life and all that other stuff

The Light Post

Scott & Christina Graff

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

iwedplanner wedding vendors

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

Chickens Bring Peace to the Earth

Slow down, pray, make better choices

incomingfeed.wordpress.com/

Feed Only via TSS Team

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

FOGwalkerBirdie

Walking in the Favor Of God

PROPEL STEPS

Education is Everything

GIFT FROM THE HEART - Share and Care!

Appreciation, Respect and Gratitude towards all...... that there is!

Upside DIY

Born from the love of, "Do It Yourself" attitude!

Soul Access

LAY DOWN YOUR MASK AND BE KNOWN BELOVED

Traveling with Thomas

Follow me as I study in London and travel Europe

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Mercy Not Sacrifice

The Blog of Morgan Guyton

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Stealing Kisses & Making Mistakes.

Following God's path while stumbling through this world with a heart of a woman.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Ed Mooney Photography

The home of Kildare based Photographer, Blogger and self proclaimed Ruinhunter.

MyCreativeHaven

”Art washes from the soul the dust of everyday life.” -- Picasso.

gabrielsfury

poems & stories, thoughts about people and places between moments of clarity, or not.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

