Musings From A Musical Mind

The Day America Cried

9.11

Image by drp via Flickr

9 short years ago an event happened that will forever be etched in our memories – 9.11.  Images from our TV in news reports in a constant replay – was a part of our lives for days – as the country tried to process the unthinkable. And we cried.

Those old enough to remember where they were when John F. Kennedy was shot – will never forget where they were when they heard the news.

I was first aware of misery and things unexplainable during the Vietnam years – although I was still in elementary school for most of it.  I think you could call that ‘the end of the innocence’ for my generation.  So many deaths – and the cry of – ‘what are we really fighting for?’ became the theme song.

I also remember the ‘Challenger’ disaster in ’84 – and I remember exactly where I was and what I was doing when I heard.  It was unspeakable – a national tragedy and the whole country wept.

I remember the senseless shootings and deaths associated with killers in schools in our southern states – one of them happened not far from where we were living in Fort. Worth Texas in ’94.  Remember Waco?

But none of us have ever faced and tried to process the horror of 9 years ago as the whole country watched in horror – as the twin towers – fell. How do we fight against something we can’t even detect – and one who kills themselves in the process?  It was a gruesome day – and we all mourned.  We mourned for those we did not even know – and their families.  And today – we still remember.

It was – and always will be – the day America cried.

God Bless

Comments on: "The Day America Cried" (10)

  1. I was driving to Yakima for a Sectional Presbyter’s Committee meeting. I was glued to the radio the whole way there and then all the way home. When I got to Stone Church in Yakima, they had the news playing on the big screen in the sanctuary. It was riveting as well as heartbreaking.

  2. I had my little tiny kitchen tv on the local news channel while washing the dishes getting ready for my homeschool day when I saw the first tower on fire. I watched live as the second plane flew into the second tower and when each tower collapsed. I watch reports of the Pentagon and Flight 93. My dd and I suspended school that day to watch and pray for the country.

  3. Not just America cried that day Cindy. The whole world did.:(

  4. Unfortunately, there are too many good tributes to that day. The fact that we need them to remember still amazes me. So many have forgotten; so many make light of it.

    I was coming home from getting some early groceries, figuring on getting a jump on my day. A friend was staying with me. When I walked back in the house, she shrieked, “LOOK!!!” and pointed at the TV. I dropped the bags. I had some “late” kids so I had 3 in elementary school that day. I ran for the phone. No service. We are in the corridor between DC and NYC, so they took all the phone lines until they could get things sorted out. I made a mad dash for my car to go to the schools and get them. Just then, my neighbor popped out and told me that the kids would be home in about 20 minutes, not to worry. They got home okay. We got phone service back later that evening.

    I remember the next morning, standing with the kids waiting for the bus. All the moms were nervous, clutching their kids pretty tight, looking up at the sky. I was cracking jokes about what would they bomb around here. . . cow pies? Truth be told, I was probably just as afraid as the rest of those much younger moms.

    I also remember where I was the day Kennedy was shot. I was in the 6th grade. It was the very first time I had a black teacher. I dearly loved her and I always wondered why the other parents pulled their kids out of her class. I remember the teachers getting called out of the classroom that day. We all sat quietly back then. She walked back in, wiping tears from her eyes. She told us something bad had happened and we had to go home, but there were no buses and if anyone lived out her way she would take them home. She wouldn’t say what it was, only that we should talk to our parents about it when we got home. I walked home almost 5 miles that day. Every person I passed was bawling their eyes out. I didn’t really know why until I got home.

    That’s two milestone tragedies in my life so far. I don’t even want to think about No. 3.

  5. Everyone remembers where and what they were doing when they first heard what had happened. It’s one of my clearest memories.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

diana iannarone

Wake Up. Stand Up. Live Free. A Perceptual Approach to Rapid Growth and Permanent Change

Fallen Pastor

Helping fallen pastors and those affected by a fall from ministry

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

The Devotion Cafe'

Love and Empowerment

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Heart Club Band

⃟ What a strange world we live in... ⃟

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

The Fickle Heartbeat

A blog about love or lack thereof

knitting soul

turning the knots into something beautiful

Kristi Ann's Haven

Jesus ( Yeshua) Saves!!

GODINTEREST - Christian blog covering faith, culture and life

Christian Articles, Christian News, Information and Resources. All God centred posts by Godinterest

The Light Post

Scott & Christina Graff

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

iwedplanner wedding vendors

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

Chickens Bring Peace to the Earth

Slow down, pray, make better choices

incomingfeed.wordpress.com/

Feed Only via TSS Team

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

FOGwalkerBirdie

Walking in the Favor Of God

PROPEL STEPS

Education is Everything

GIFT FROM THE HEART - Share and Care!

Appreciation, Respect and Gratitude towards all...... that there is!

Upside DIY

Born from the love of, "Do It Yourself" attitude!

Soul Access

LAY DOWN YOUR MASK AND BE KNOWN BELOVED

Traveling with Thomas

Follow me as I study in London and travel Europe

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Mercy Not Sacrifice

The Blog of Morgan Guyton

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Stealing Kisses & Making Mistakes.

Following God's path while stumbling through this world with a heart of a woman.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Ed Mooney Photography

The home of Kildare based Photographer, Blogger and self proclaimed Ruinhunter.

MyCreativeHaven

”Art washes from the soul the dust of everyday life.” -- Picasso.

gabrielsfury

poems & stories, thoughts about people and places between moments of clarity, or not.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

