Musings From A Musical Mind

He’s Got Bette Davis Eyes

So (album)

Image via Wikipedia

This morning I woke up and looked over at my sweet sleepy husband.  He looked like an angel – and I was just watching him – wondering when he would wake up – when he suddenly and slowly opened up his eyes.  They were so cute and puffy from lack of sleep after a very late (or early) work night.  As he looked at me trying to focus – I thought they looked very much like pictures I had seen of the sultry and sexy Bette Davis – (just the eyes) – and before I could retract it, I said “You’ve got Bette Davis Eyes

I’m sure he does not appreciate my humor at that time in the morning – but I really did mean it as a complement 🙂  He’s a pretty good sport – most of the time and usually laughs right out loud at my poking fun at him –  and it is easy and comfortable being with him – I love to hear him laugh like that.  And his eyes crinkle with humor and fun – much mischief and ‘little boy’ innocence – it is really nice.

Eyes are the ‘window to the soul‘ and many things can be revealed about a person when you look into them.  Fear, confidence, pain, hurt, frustration, peace, fun, mischief – yes it all revealed in a moment – through the eyes.

I LOVE brown eyes.  they are deep and expressive, mysterious and soft.

I also LOVE green eyes.  Whimsical and sparkling with fun.  Captivating and full of mischief.

But my favorite are Blue eyes.  My husband has blue eyes.  They are sweet and kind.  They hold me with just a glance and touch something deep within me.

My eyes are also blue – and they are my husband’s favorite thing about me.  He can read them very well – and understands what lies beneath the surface after all these years.  They are my ‘window’ to what is inside of me.  Sometimes shining with fun – sometimes brimming with tears and emotion – they are all a part of me – and he loves to drown in them.  I am very lucky.

Below is a song by Peter GabrielIn Your Eyes”  the lyrics perfectly express how I feel – and how my husband feels about me and my eyes.  Enjoy!

God Bless

Comments on: "He’s Got Bette Davis Eyes" (6)

  1. I thought you were going to post Bette Davis Eyes. lol

  2. That’s a good song. And I actually like the song “Betty David Eyes,” too. My eyes are mud brown. That’s a nicer way of putting it than what I usually say. 🙂 My husband’s eyes are pale ice blue gray. His dad’s were like that. The rest of his family has blue eyes, too, but they are darker and brighter blue. Those icy eyes can be frightening at times. Of the four kids, one has brown eyes, one has hazel/green and two have blue.

    Eyes DO tell you a lot. Folks are always asking which part of a man do you look at first. Well, I’m usually NOT looking, but if I do. . . I’m usually attempting to look them in the eye. It’s a good way to get a peek into what’s inside.

    • I agree with you – it can be awkward holding a gaze from a man – but it is important to get that ‘peek’ into the soul. You really can tell so much – if they will let you see it.

  3. Greg Holman said:

    Great song my love, and thanks for the wonderful compliment! And yes, I’m a sucker for your beautiful large blue eyes, especially when you smile revealing the little crinkly “crow’s feet”!
    Can you tell I’m a “goner”?
    Greg

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

diana iannarone

Wake Up. Stand Up. Live Free. A Perceptual Approach to Rapid Growth and Permanent Change

Fallen Pastor

Helping fallen pastors and those affected by a fall from ministry

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

The Devotion Cafe'

Love and Empowerment

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Heart Club Band

⃟ What a strange world we live in... ⃟

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

The Fickle Heartbeat

A blog about love or lack thereof

knitting soul

turning the knots into something beautiful

Kristi Ann's Haven

Jesus ( Yeshua) Saves!!

GODINTEREST - Christian blog covering faith, culture and life

Christian Articles, Christian News, Information and Resources. All God centred posts by Godinterest

The Light Post

Scott & Christina Graff

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

iwedplanner wedding vendors

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

Chickens Bring Peace to the Earth

Slow down, pray, make better choices

incomingfeed.wordpress.com/

Feed Only via TSS Team

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

FOGwalkerBirdie

Walking in the Favor Of God

PROPEL STEPS

Education is Everything

GIFT FROM THE HEART - Share and Care!

Appreciation, Respect and Gratitude towards all...... that there is!

Upside DIY

Born from the love of, "Do It Yourself" attitude!

Soul Access

LAY DOWN YOUR MASK AND BE KNOWN BELOVED

Traveling with Thomas

Follow me as I study in London and travel Europe

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Mercy Not Sacrifice

The Blog of Morgan Guyton

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Stealing Kisses & Making Mistakes.

Following God's path while stumbling through this world with a heart of a woman.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Ed Mooney Photography

The home of Kildare based Photographer, Blogger and self proclaimed Ruinhunter.

MyCreativeHaven

”Art washes from the soul the dust of everyday life.” -- Picasso.

gabrielsfury

poems & stories, thoughts about people and places between moments of clarity, or not.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

