Musings From A Musical Mind

Official seal of the National Organic Program

Image via Wikipedia

After watching a video and reading more information this past week on ‘The Diet Solution’ – which is NOT a diet at all but just a smart and healthy way to eat – Greg and I decided to make a few changes in some of the things we have been eating – in an attempt to be healthier and live longer.  Mostly just stop eating sugar – and the wrong kinds of bread.  So in reading information on bread – it was determined that only the ‘sprouted grain’ bread is the best kind and will not mess your body up.  So the only place they sell it is at whole foods or health stores.  We found one in Renton and I must say – it is expensive but really good.  Lots of nuts and natural grains which I love!

Also only sea salt is the best salt to use – not that other stuff they sell – I was way ahead of the game having only used a sea salt grinder for the last couple of years.

And of course – organic foods – such as dairy, meat and eggs – which again are expensive. But since we are trying to be healthy – we did buy a few things in the organic section of the grocery store.  I always  knew that there was an organic section in Safeway – but it seems to be growing as more and more people are wanting those foods.  I’m hoping as it is more in demand – the prices will drop.

And we did have fun shopping for organic foods – and chicken with no hormones and lots of veggies.  We also picked up a product called xylitol which is a natural sweetener – made from sugar alcoholic – no preservatives and is actually good for bones and teeth.  It’s an amazing sweetener.  Those other sweetener packets will kill you.  Of course everything eventually will – if you live long enough.  So for us – it’s baby steps.

I think more people are becoming healthy and want to live longer more productive lives – and so organic foods are going to become more the way to go.

Right now I am just going to try some different choices.  I will still drink my coffee with vanilla creamer – but when I have tea I will put xylitol in it.  And since I already love nuts – that’s a very healthy and acceptable snack.  Any fruits and veggies are great – I love to grill them or stir fry them in a little butter or olive oil – and both of these are a great natural way to go – none of that margarine or butter substitutes.  Luckily we’ve been using real butter and olive oil for years.  I love sweet potatoes, avocados, fish, chicken, and occasionally red meat – all of which is fine if it’s hormone free – and the fish needs to be wild – not farm raised.  And my turkey this year for Thanksgiving will be an organic one – which I’m told tastes WAY better anyway – so Yay!!

As for soy products – they are apparently bad for you – and that’s fine with me because personally – I don’t care for the taste anyway.

Mostly anything that is natural – or a real food is okay – there is no diet involved with just eating healthier and making better choices.  And not eating sugar – or at least cutting back is just a good idea for everyone.

For lunch I made Greg and me  a B.L.T.A. (Bacon, Lettuce, Tomato and avocado) with sprouted grain bread and organic mayo.  It was amazing. Last night we had grilled salmon and veggies.   One thing about eating better and not starving yourself – is a change in your metabolism – which makes you leaner and more healthy.

No sugar?  Yes – I can do it – in an attempt to be a more healthy me.

On a funny side note – our 19 year old son Shawn came home last night and looked in the fridge, freezer and pantry – marched up to our bedroom (it was after midnight) and said, “Mom – you weren’t kidding when you said you were going organic – EVERYTHING is organic – where’s the REAL FOOD!”  We got a good chuckle over that – and we won’t be starving our son – he will see to it I’m sure ☺

Time for a nap – and tomorrow I will continue – and do my yoga stretches and elliptical too.  I know I can do it.

Have a great Sunday!

 

God Bless

Comments on: "Attempting To Be A More Healthy Me" (4)

  1. Go, Cindy! I just joined the Y so I intend to start exercising, if things ever calm down around here. I’m wary of organic food (read too many articles on how they fake it), plus there’s a lot I can’t eat due to my particular stomach problems. I applaud anyone who starts to eat clean. One caution: Watch the Xylitol. It can make you socially unacceptable. Use VERY little. Any sugar alcohol goes right through me. I generally use Splenda, but I’m attempting to switch to Stevia. GOOD LUCK!!!!

    • Haha!! I have looked up the side effects and since I WILL be using very little I don’t think it will be a problem – but I’ll keep it in mind 🙂

  2. Good for you, Cindy! After my exercising debacle, I found I didn’t want to each much of anything. That’s probably the reason I’m losing so much weight. I can’t eat anything sugary, even fruit. I can’t eat too much at a time (not that I did before, but now is ridiculous). I don’t like junk food at all. So I guess that’s a self-imposed diet.

    • I wish that was my problem JoJo – with the weight just falling off!! I do wish they would find out what is making you feel so bad though – and why you get tired exercising.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

diana iannarone

Wake Up. Stand Up. Live Free. A Perceptual Approach to Rapid Growth and Permanent Change

Fallen Pastor

Helping fallen pastors and those affected by a fall from ministry

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

The Devotion Cafe'

Love and Empowerment

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Heart Club Band

⃟ What a strange world we live in... ⃟

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

The Fickle Heartbeat

A blog about love or lack thereof

knitting soul

turning the knots into something beautiful

Kristi Ann's Haven

Jesus ( Yeshua) Saves!!

PROJECT: A Journal for Project Management

Project is a journal for project managers to express their ideas and share their work through writing, conversation, design and image

The Light Post

Scott & Christina Graff

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

iwedplanner wedding vendors

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

Chickens Bring Peace to the Earth

Slow down, pray, make better choices

incomingfeed.wordpress.com/

Feed Only via TSS Team

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

FOGwalkerBirdie

Walking in the Favor Of God

PROPEL STEPS

Education is Everything

GIFT FROM THE HEART - Share and Care!

Appreciation, Respect and Gratitude towards all...... that there is!

Upside DIY

Born from the love of, "Do It Yourself" attitude!

Soul Access

LAY DOWN YOUR MASK AND BE KNOWN BELOVED

Traveling with Thomas

Follow me as I study in London and travel Europe

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Mercy Not Sacrifice

The Blog of Morgan Guyton

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Stealing Kisses & Making Mistakes.

Following God's path while stumbling through this world with a heart of a woman.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Ed Mooney Photography

The home of Kildare based Photographer, Blogger and self proclaimed Ruinhunter.

MyCreativeHaven

”Art washes from the soul the dust of everyday life.” -- Picasso.

gabrielsfury

poems & stories, thoughts about people and places between moments of clarity, or not.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

