Musings From A Musical Mind

Having A ‘Jaws’ Season

Cover of "Jaws (30th Anniversary Edition)...

Cover of Jaws (30th Anniversary Edition)

Last night Greg and I watched a 2 hour documentary about the making of the movie ‘Jaws’ – released in 1975.  I remember going to see ‘Jaws’ that summer with some friends – in fact I’ll never forget it.  It reinforced my very strong fear of the water and especially the ocean.

What looks easy to the observer, however, often is just the opposite.  This movie was fraught with disasters, cast and crew problems and weather complications filming on the open sea.  As I watched all of this – my appreciation for a great film increased as was my admiration for the film’s young director, Steven Spielberg who was just 27 years old at the time.

Spielberg, in a very candid interview about his memories of making this film said this, “Everyday I was worried I would get fired – I thought it would finish me as a director – but I keep pushing on anyway”  And push on he did – way over budget and past the breaking point for cast and crew many times.  He worked well under the stress – even Richard Dreyfess said, “All Steven did was bite his nails”   Well you know the rest – ‘Jaws’ brought many records that year and was the first of what we would call ‘blockbuster’ films of that era.  What could have been Spielberg’s worst disaster – turned out to be his greatest achievement and his shining moment.  All because he did not give up and give in to the negative – worked with integrity and finished it.  A true masterpiece.

How many times have I been through a ‘Jaws’ season?  Too many.  But I have also learned something.  Even in my darkest times as a human being – my true self comes out in a way in which I cannot hide.  It is my true nature – my default setting.  And often times what feels like my most disastrous season – may also be my finest moment.

Every ‘saint’ of the Bible went through their own ‘Jaws’ period at one time or another.  What separated them from other people – was that they were people of faith and they trusted God – kept their heart right – and didn’t compromise who they were even when hit with hard times.  They kept believing – kept hoping and kept loving.

Have you ever had a ‘Jaws’ season?  A time when trouble came to you – hung on and wouldn’t let go?  An illness or family problem that you just couldn’t brush aside – but that went on and on – forever?  A stress or heartbreak that threatens to swallow you?  Hang on.  Don’t lose hope.  Help is on the way.  And though you cannot see it – there is a reason.  And someday you will have the answers to the questions.  The real you is being formed and shaped.  There is a purpose for the pain.

Here is a song by Amy Grant that has always helped me when I’m hit with a difficult season.

Comments on: "Having A ‘Jaws’ Season" (2)

  1. Ive had many. Goingthru one right tnow. I hve a new ook I’m working on finishing up to get to my editor on Tuesday, but I”ve had so many prolblems making it difficult for me to finish ormking the process slowers. My intenrnet has gone out afew times making it hard to get all thelinks i need for the resourc e section of each chapter. I onlyh have two chapters left to go. Also my fibro is pretty bad in my neck nd my fingrers. I’m having to type things over and over again. I’m pryaing it will get doen tomorrow. But hten I have two more books due out. one in Nov and one in Dec.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

diana iannarone

Wake Up. Stand Up. Live Free. A Perceptual Approach to Rapid Growth and Permanent Change

Fallen Pastor

Helping fallen pastors and those affected by a fall from ministry

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

The Devotion Cafe'

Love and Empowerment

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Heart Club Band

⃟ What a strange world we live in... ⃟

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

The Fickle Heartbeat

A blog about love or lack thereof

knitting soul

turning the knots into something beautiful

Kristi Ann's Haven

Jesus ( Yeshua) Saves!!

GODINTEREST - Christian magazine covering faith, culture and life

Godinterest is a place to talk about God, Culture, Life and all that other stuff

The Light Post

Scott & Christina Graff

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

iwedplanner wedding vendors

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

Chickens Bring Peace to the Earth

Slow down, pray, make better choices

incomingfeed.wordpress.com/

Feed Only via TSS Team

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

FOGwalkerBirdie

Walking in the Favor Of God

PROPEL STEPS

Education is Everything

GIFT FROM THE HEART - Share and Care!

Appreciation, Respect and Gratitude towards all...... that there is!

Upside DIY

Born from the love of, "Do It Yourself" attitude!

Soul Access

LAY DOWN YOUR MASK AND BE KNOWN BELOVED

Traveling with Thomas

Follow me as I study in London and travel Europe

HarsH ReaLiTy

My goal with this blog is to offend everyone in the world at least once with my words… so no one has a reason to have a heightened sense of themselves. We are all ignorant, we are all found wanting, we are all bad people sometimes.

Mercy Not Sacrifice

The Blog of Morgan Guyton

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Stealing Kisses & Making Mistakes.

Following God's path while stumbling through this world with a heart of a woman.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Ed Mooney Photography

The home of Kildare based Photographer, Blogger and self proclaimed Ruinhunter.

MyCreativeHaven

”Art washes from the soul the dust of everyday life.” -- Picasso.

gabrielsfury

poems & stories, thoughts about people and places between moments of clarity, or not.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

