Musings From A Musical Mind

The Baby Magnet

A young girl kisses a baby on the cheek.

Image via Wikipedia

I have always LOVED babies.  I remember being about 10 and begging to help take care of them in the nursery at the little church our family was attending.  It was a little young – but if there was an adult there, usually they would let me help from time to time.  I have always loved how babies smell – like powder and sweetness.  And how I could rock them and stop their crying.  There was a precious baby boy named Nathan that I was in love with.  Big brown eyes and curly dark hair.  He would look for me on Sunday morning and I couldn’t wait to hold him.  It’s amazing to me to think that this ‘baby’ that I cuddled and rocked is now about 40 years old!  Ugh.

The ‘baby’ phase disappeared over time and as I grew up I developed new interests and became busy.  I married young and wasn’t ready to even to consider having babies of my own – until we had been married about 5 years.  We had been married 6 years when baby Ashlee was born – and then 4 years later – our baby Shawn was born.  They were quite enough baby for me – there’s nothing quite like your own child in your arms.

But children and babies have always liked me.  I smile and pay attention to them – and children LOVE that.  I think that’s why I have always had success teaching young children – because I genuinely like them – and they can tell!

The other day I was waiting for my appointment at the Chiropractor’s office.  There was a nice young couple there with a baby, one year old – complete with a cute little dress, shoes and braids in her hair.  She was sitting on the lap of her father, and she spotted me and I smiled at her.  She was one of those really pretty babies with the big eyes.  She squirmed and tried to get away from her father.  He held her fast, even when she struggled and tried to go.  After a while he handed her to her mother and she tried in vain to distract the child and stop her from whining and wanting to get away.  Finally they could not detain her anymore and let her carefully walk around the coffee table, all the time staring right at me – in an attempt to come over to me.  She would not be dissuaded – but kept coming until she had finally reached me and then, would you believe it, she actually crawled up into my lap?! I’ve never witnessed anything like it before!  She was not shy at all – but kept looking at me and wanting to be held.  She even put her little head on my chest and did NOT want to be parted from me.  It was really something.  Her parents did not appear to speak much English – but clearly they were amazed too.  I managed to find out the baby’s name and how old she was – before they called me for my appointment.  Getting up I  handed her to her mother and this was not received well at all – she fussed and cried!  I was really amazed by this display of affection.  I guess you’ll just have to call me a ‘baby magnet’.  🙂

But although I really like babies and children I can safely say, no more babies for me, thank you very much – but I will really enjoy being a Grandma someday – especially because I know that it will be okay – they seem to like me.  And no I don’t think I like the word ‘Grandma’ – it sounds old – and I AM NOT!  I think I prefer ‘MiMi’ instead 🙂

 

So bring on the babies – they can sit in my lap and I will coo and fuss over them.  Just make sure you DON’T call me Grandma.

 

God Bless

Comments on: "The Baby Magnet" (6)

  1. I love babies, too, provided I can give them back! LOL I’m sorry to say I’ve had enough of babies in my life. Guess I have finally crossed the “old” threshhold, huh? Waiting for the grands as they are eminently returnable. I DO, however, love knitting baby clothes. 🙂

  2. LOL. Cindy, I too am a baby magnet. I am now a grandmother of eight and I don’t feel old. To this day, babies smile at me and always feel comfortable when I hold them at their parent’s amazement. I heard so often, “they never let anyone hold them”. Now that I am “Granny”, it is a double blessing. I am blessed to have my daughter and my son in law, living with me, so I have the opportunity to see my grandson and granddaughter on a daily basis. Tomorrow, I will be going on my third field trip with my four year old grandson. Since you are a baby magnet, you are going to make a great, granny magnet, or mimi magnet. Their unconditional love keep me smiling on days when I am feeling sorry for myself!!!!!! It is nothing like a baby’s love to chase the blues away. From one baby magnet to another. 🙂

    • Haha! Thanks for the encouragement Jurline! I’m glad to know that I’m not alone out there with weird things like babies just popping into my lap! I’m looking forward to being a MiMi someday!

  3. That’s an amazing story. Usually babies don’t much like strangers. You MUST be a baby magnet!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

diana iannarone

Wake Up. Stand Up. Live Free. A Perceptual Approach to Rapid Growth and Permanent Change

Fallen Pastor

Helping fallen pastors and those affected by a fall from ministry

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

The Devotion Cafe'

Love and Empowerment

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Heart Club Band

⃟ What a strange world we live in... ⃟

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

The Fickle Heartbeat

A blog about love or lack thereof

knitting soul

turning the knots into something beautiful

Kristi Ann's Haven

Jesus ( Yeshua) Saves!!

Godinterest Blog

All God-centered articles and blog posts from Godinterest

The Light Post

Scott & Christina Graff

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

iwedplanner wedding vendors

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

Chickens Bring Peace to the Earth

Slow down, pray, make better choices

incomingfeed.wordpress.com/

Feed Only via TSS Team

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

FOGwalkerBirdie

Walking in the Favor Of God

PROPEL STEPS

Education is Everything

GIFT FROM THE HEART - Share and Care!

Appreciation, Respect and Gratitude towards all...... that there is!

Upside DIY

Born from the love of, "Do It Yourself" attitude!

Soul Access

LAY DOWN YOUR MASK AND BE KNOWN BELOVED

Traveling with Thomas

Follow me as I study in London and travel Europe

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Mercy Not Sacrifice

The Blog of Morgan Guyton

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Stealing Kisses & Making Mistakes.

Following God's path while stumbling through this world with a heart of a woman.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Ed Mooney Photography

The home of Kildare based Photographer, Blogger and self proclaimed Ruinhunter.

MyCreativeHaven

”Art washes from the soul the dust of everyday life.” -- Picasso.

gabrielsfury

poems & stories, thoughts about people and places between moments of clarity, or not.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

