Musings From A Musical Mind

Little Green Apples

A picture taken, of Green Apples in a jar.

Image via Wikipedia

I found a wonderful rendition of the song, “Little Green Apples” written by Bobby Russell.  It has been sung by many artists over the years.   I was a little girl in 1968 when I first heard it – and I haven’t heard it in maybe 40 years.  I  was reminded of it again in a movie I was watching last night – where a woman in a long-term marriage turns to her husband and asks him if they have had a good marriage – in much the same way that Tevye asks Goldi in “Fiddler on the Roof” – ‘do you love me’?  His response to her was that no matter what – he has always come home to her.  He says, ‘It’s kinda like that song, “Little Green Apples”‘.  It made me want to look it up again and see just what he meant.
Well now I know – and if  you have never heard this song before – so shall you.

Here is Glen Campbell singing with his daughter in a rare stage appearance – I thought it was awesome.

Enjoy – and today I wish for you a love like the lyrics of this song.

God Bless

Well I wake up in the morning
With my hair down in my eyes
And she says “hi”

And I hurry to the breakfast table
While the kids are goin’ off to school, goodbye.

And she reaches out and takes my hand
And squeezes it, and says how you feeling hon?

And I look across at smiling lips
That warm my heart, and I see my morning sun.

And if that’s not lovin’ me,
Then all I’ve got to say,

God didn’t make the little green apples,
And it don’t rain in Indianapolis in the summer time.
There’s no such thing as Dr. Seuss
Disneyland and Mother Goose,
No nursery rhymes.

God didn’t make the little green apples,
And it don’t rain in Indianapolis in the summer time.
And when myself is feeling low,
I think about your face aglow and ease my mind.

Sometimes I call him up, knowing he’s busy.
To ask if he could get away, meet me
Maybe grab a bite to eat.

And he drops what he’s doing
Hurries down to meet me, and I’m always late.

But he sits waiting patiently,
And smiles when he first sees me,
Cause he’s made that way.

And if that’s not loving me,
Then all I got to say,

God didn’t make the little green apples,
And it don’t snow in Minneapolis when the winter comes.
There’s no such thing as make-believe,
Puppy dogs or autumn leaves, no bb guns.

God didn’t make the little green apples,
And it don’t rain in Indianapolis in the summer time.
And when myself is feeling low,
I think about your face aglow and ease my mind…

Comments on: "Little Green Apples" (2)

  1. Boy, that’s one from the past! I’m not sure where I first heard it, but I know the song well. It was a L-O-N-G time ago. Haven’t seen Glen Campbell in a long time either. Did a little research. Debbie Campbell has been singing with her dad since 1987. He also has his 3 youngest kids in his show, too. He’s 75 now and she’s 55. Wow, time is flying very fast. You dig up the good stuff, Cindy. 🙂

    • It’s usually by accident that I find these things at all! I’m grateful that others love this stuff like I do and post them on youtube!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

diana iannarone

Wake Up. Stand Up. Live Free. A Perceptual Approach to Rapid Growth and Permanent Change

Fallen Pastor

Helping fallen pastors and those affected by a fall from ministry

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

The Devotion Cafe'

Love and Empowerment

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Heart Club Band

⃟ What a strange world we live in... ⃟

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

The Fickle Heartbeat

A blog about love or lack thereof

knitting soul

turning the knots into something beautiful

Kristi Ann's Haven

Jesus ( Yeshua) Saves!!

GODINTEREST - Christian blog covering faith, culture and life

Christian Articles, Christian News, Information and Resources. All God centred posts by Godinterest

The Light Post

Scott & Christina Graff

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

iwedplanner wedding vendors

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

Chickens Bring Peace to the Earth

Slow down, pray, make better choices

incomingfeed.wordpress.com/

Feed Only via TSS Team

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

FOGwalkerBirdie

Walking in the Favor Of God

PROPEL STEPS

Education is Everything

GIFT FROM THE HEART - Share and Care!

Appreciation, Respect and Gratitude towards all...... that there is!

Upside DIY

Born from the love of, "Do It Yourself" attitude!

Soul Access

LAY DOWN YOUR MASK AND BE KNOWN BELOVED

Traveling with Thomas

Follow me as I study in London and travel Europe

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Mercy Not Sacrifice

The Blog of Morgan Guyton

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Stealing Kisses & Making Mistakes.

Following God's path while stumbling through this world with a heart of a woman.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Ed Mooney Photography

The home of Kildare based Photographer, Blogger and self proclaimed Ruinhunter.

MyCreativeHaven

”Art washes from the soul the dust of everyday life.” -- Picasso.

gabrielsfury

poems & stories, thoughts about people and places between moments of clarity, or not.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

