Musings From A Musical Mind

Cover of "Forgiveness"

Cover of Forgiveness

Our pastor spoke on the subject of “Forgiveness” last Sunday.  It was also Mother’s Day.  It was an interesting choice – but he was right on the mark.

Mom’s are notorious for “stuffing” things – in order to better serve the family.  Putting their own wants and needs aside.  But more than that – because we are seen as the “role-model” for our home – we are not usually allowed to be as authentic as we need to be.  We always have “little eyes and ears” watching our every move – seeing our reaction to things that happen and in general making it difficult to be who we really are.

When my children were younger – there were some interesting events that took place inside the church body.  My husband and I were on staff in a few churches – where there was something done or said that left us reeling  from the remarks or actions – and yet – we chose to let it go – and to forgive.  My children don’t even know about those things – even today now that they are all grown up.

In recent years I have had other things happen – and yet – trying to model for my children – I have had to suck it up – not grieve a loss or injustice done – so that I could show that I am a person who chooses to forgive – at any cost.

This is good – and it is bad.  I’m not sure it’s totally healthy.  I’m not sure I have really forgiven – without strings.  I still feel as though some owe me.  Those that have chosen to hurt me and say bad things against me and my character.  But at the time – taking the higher road meant – forgiving.  But there were strings.

After the message on Sunday I learned something.  It is not enough to say we forgive others for what they may have done to us – but we also have to forgive ourselves for the things that we have done.  And often times that forgiveness is withheld longer for ourselves because we don’t think we need it.  We feel justified – almost self-righteous because others have ‘done me wrong’.  So we hang on – not thinking anything about it – but we have not really forgiven.

And when we have done something we know that God has forgiven – and maybe even the people in our lives (at least some) but to forgive ourselves is HUGE.  I have spoken on this subject before in the last couple of years and I know that many struggle with this subject.  It almost seems self-indulgent to say it.  And if you’re like me – you think, ‘well it doesn’t erase anything – just because I say it’.  And because it feels wrong somehow – we withhold it.  Especially from ourselves.

If you are one that lives in a place called “guilt-land” then you know what I’m talking about.  All the things that come to mind that you ‘should’ve, could’ve, would’ve’ done differently if you could go back in time.  The people who would still be in your life today – except for that one thing you said or did.  The children or parents you alienated because of that incident or letter you wrote in anger.  Yeah – that one.  If only.  You’ve asked for forgiveness – even from that person and yet – you still hang on to it.  It is what I call – “Forgiveness with strings“.

I want to get to that place in my life where I can truly let go of past hurts and issues from others – be free in my mind from things that I know I’ve done wrong and can really say – I forgive – without strings.  I no longer hold others and myself – prisoner to things I can never fix – to  wait for the magical day when others approach me and say, ‘it’s okay – all is forgiven’ – because I now know that day will most likely never come.  I can no longer secretly hope they get what’s coming to them – hoping they are miserable in their ‘unforgiveness’ – I must let it go.

The only things that matter are these:

1. Know that God has forgiven me

2. Know that I have forgiven others

3. Know that I have forgiven myself.

Anything else is gravy, people.  That’s what forgiveness is like – without strings.

Yeah I’m not there yet – working on it.

God Bless

Comments on: "Forgiveness without strings" (9)

  1. […] Forgiveness without strings (cindyholman.wordpress.com) […]

  2. I think it’s much, much harder to forgive myself than it is to forgive others. For some reason, I seem to have a talent for self-flagellation. I can do it, but not without those strings attached. People say I can forgive, but I can’t forget. But if you don’t forget, is there true forgiveness? I’ve always wondered about that. If you keep rehashing it in your mind, I don’t think you’ve let go of the strings.

  3. Such a huge part of living the Kingdom of God. Forgiving others is hard, but essential. Forgiving the self is yet another challenge, since we like to be hard on ourselves. I have to personally work on it so that I can be at peace. My brother had an incident recently where a man who hurt him emotionally came to visit him asking for forgiveness. After 5 or more years of feeling this hatred and resentment, my brother was able to forgive this man. I told my brother, “you are not far from the Kingdom of Heaven!”. He gave me an example.

    • Amazing thing – forgiveness. It sets us free and that’s what Jesus meant – not for them – it’s for us. I love hearing these stories – gives me hope that one day all of us may move a step closer to it 🙂

  4. I find it very easy to overlook things other people do…the first time! With each additional hurt of the same persuasion, it becomes that much more difficult for me to forgive without strings. Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me. I do almost always gives folks another chance, but BOY do those strings grow thicker and longer with time!

    • Boy is that THE TRUTH!! We used to tell our teenage daughter that about “Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me” – it’s true with forgiveness, isn’t it?

  5. Some of the best stuff I’ve read on forgiveness is by Christian counselor Jay Adams. Very insightful.

    That MacArthur book is good as well. Great post Cindy.

    • Thanks Ray – I will have to look for that book by Jay Adams – I just liked the cover of the MacArthur book – never read it. Thanks for commenting – I really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

diana iannarone

Wake Up. Stand Up. Live Free. A Perceptual Approach to Rapid Growth and Permanent Change

Fallen Pastor

Helping fallen pastors and those affected by a fall from ministry

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

The Devotion Cafe'

Love and Empowerment

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Heart Club Band

⃟ What a strange world we live in... ⃟

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

The Fickle Heartbeat

A blog about love or lack thereof

knitting soul

turning the knots into something beautiful

Kristi Ann's Haven

Jesus ( Yeshua) Saves!!

GODINTEREST - Christian blog covering faith, culture and life

Christian Articles, Christian News, Information and Resources. All God centred posts by Godinterest

The Light Post

Scott & Christina Graff

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

iwedplanner wedding vendors

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

Chickens Bring Peace to the Earth

Slow down, pray, make better choices

incomingfeed.wordpress.com/

Feed Only via TSS Team

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

FOGwalkerBirdie

Walking in the Favor Of God

PROPEL STEPS

Education is Everything

GIFT FROM THE HEART - Share and Care!

Appreciation, Respect and Gratitude towards all...... that there is!

Upside DIY

Born from the love of, "Do It Yourself" attitude!

Soul Access

LAY DOWN YOUR MASK AND BE KNOWN BELOVED

Traveling with Thomas

Follow me as I study in London and travel Europe

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Mercy Not Sacrifice

The Blog of Morgan Guyton

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Stealing Kisses & Making Mistakes.

Following God's path while stumbling through this world with a heart of a woman.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Ed Mooney Photography

The home of Kildare based Photographer, Blogger and self proclaimed Ruinhunter.

MyCreativeHaven

”Art washes from the soul the dust of everyday life.” -- Picasso.

gabrielsfury

poems & stories, thoughts about people and places between moments of clarity, or not.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

