Musings From A Musical Mind

Damaged Perfection

A few days ago I was commenting on a guest blog article and the guest asked a question:

What is your graffiti tag?

I didn’t have to think about it too long before the words “Damaged Perfection” came out on the comment.  And since he too agreed that it was pretty cool – I decided to write an article about those two words and why they have meaning for me.

I am damaged

Most of us are.  I have failed, missed the mark over and over again, have hurt and disappointed and turned in rebellion to do things my own way.  Because of this it has left me feeling broken, inadequate, hurt and full of regret.

It has caused me to see other “damaged” people in my world around me.  I am ever sensitive to the hurting and broken-hearted around me.  I have noticed how celebrities like Michael Jackson and even recently Lady Gaga can be brilliant in their craft as talented performers but then lead such sad and unfulfilled private lives.  This is why the “high” of the applause only lasts so long and then – comes the painful part of feeling empty as they are left with nothing but themselves.  This is why alcohol and drug abuse is so prevalent – and you have to feel intensely sad for them.  They are damaged.  We all are.  Without Jesus – at the end of the day – they have nothing.  Without Him – neither would I.

I am His Perfection

Created in His image.  The wondrous and flawless work of His hands.  He takes my brokenness and makes something new and beautiful.  He’s the only one who can.  Taking something damaged and discarded – and shaping it into a perfect vessel – again – because He can.  And before I sinned and missed the mark – doing damage to myself and others around me – and was going to be forever separated from His presence – there was a plan in place – a mystery – an intervention on my behalf.  He came to save what was lost – and to redeem me.  He covered my broken, sinful self and restored me  – doing a work deep within me and for me – something I could never earn or be worthy.  He did it because He loves.  We would not have done that – we would have tossed aside, destroyed and started over with another creation – but God does not work that way.  He makes promises that he does not break.  He is a covenant God – working in ways that seem backward to me.  He brings life from death and gives strength to weakness – dignity to failure – and makes a perfect finished product from ruin and despair.  He snatched death from the enemy and freely gives back what should have been taken from me long ago.  He does it – because He is God and I am not.  He sees me in a different way than I see myself.  He sees me as His Perfection.  Worthy of that second chance and more.  Worthy of a life that I do not even think I deserve. 

And so this is a life long journey and process for me – to simply trust and believe that His work in me is enough – even when I don’t feel like it – even when I continually fail.  To walk in this love and grace – making me who I ultimately will be.  The me that He sees.  I am still learning it.  I am still amazed by it.  I am still damaged.  And I am still perfectin His eyes.

I am always and forever

Damaged Perfection

God Bless

Comments on: "Damaged Perfection" (6)

  1. That IS a great definition, Cindy. I think we’re all damaged. I still have trouble, for me, with the perfection part. SIGH

  2. I like that term, Cindy.

  3. Absolutely beautiful. When I read the comment the other day I was touched. And now I am even more so.

    • Thanks Michael! What a high compliment – yes it was the comment on YOUR guest blog! How thoughtful of you to remember and to leave me a comment today! Thanks so much 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

diana iannarone

Wake Up. Stand Up. Live Free. A Perceptual Approach to Rapid Growth and Permanent Change

Fallen Pastor

Helping fallen pastors and those affected by a fall from ministry

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

The Devotion Cafe'

Love and Empowerment

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Heart Club Band

⃟ What a strange world we live in... ⃟

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

The Fickle Heartbeat

A blog about love or lack thereof

knitting soul

turning the knots into something beautiful

Kristi Ann's Haven

Jesus ( Yeshua) Saves!!

GODINTEREST - Christian blog covering faith, culture and life

Christian Articles, Christian News, Information and Resources. All God centred posts by Godinterest

The Light Post

Scott & Christina Graff

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

iwedplanner wedding vendors

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

Chickens Bring Peace to the Earth

Slow down, pray, make better choices

incomingfeed.wordpress.com/

Feed Only via TSS Team

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

FOGwalkerBirdie

Walking in the Favor Of God

PROPEL STEPS

Education is Everything

GIFT FROM THE HEART - Share and Care!

Appreciation, Respect and Gratitude towards all...... that there is!

Upside DIY

Born from the love of, "Do It Yourself" attitude!

Soul Access

LAY DOWN YOUR MASK AND BE KNOWN BELOVED

Traveling with Thomas

Follow me as I study in London and travel Europe

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Mercy Not Sacrifice

The Blog of Morgan Guyton

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Stealing Kisses & Making Mistakes.

Following God's path while stumbling through this world with a heart of a woman.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Ed Mooney Photography

The home of Kildare based Photographer, Blogger and self proclaimed Ruinhunter.

MyCreativeHaven

”Art washes from the soul the dust of everyday life.” -- Picasso.

gabrielsfury

poems & stories, thoughts about people and places between moments of clarity, or not.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

