Musings From A Musical Mind

truth

Last Sunday our youth pastor, Jeremy gave a great message from Psalms 79.  In the message he talked about being really authentic with God.  It makes sense and everyone would agree – and like me, you probably think – ‘I already do that by praying, reading scripture and pouring out my thoughts’.  But do you subconsciously hold back a little part of you – even though you KNOW He already knows about it?  Do you say, “this far God – and no more – it’s too humiliating and embarrassing and I don’t want to go there” It also may be that part that we don’t think God really knows about – so like a guilty, naughty child we hide it under the bed or in the closet, hoping He won’t look there – and won’t notice that we did not reveal everything to Him.

I am guilty of this.  Not consciously. But I have things in my life and heart that I feel God isn’t really interested in – can’t be bothered with and besides they expose me into feeling like less than I am – and for reasons I can’t explain – I hide them, don’t address them – pretend they are not there – and hope He will do the same.

A couple of nights ago – I began watching a documentary on the OWN station called, “Finding Sarah” the in-depth journey of Sarah Ferguson – the Duchess of York as she is more commonly known.  Along the way, Dr. Phil was brought in to help her and see if he could unravel the mess in her own mind – and discover what events led to her life today of regret and bad choices.  What stuck out to me was this question he asked her.  “What is your personal truth?  Everyone has one – it is what you think about yourself.  It is what others don’t know – but you believe”  She looked at him and said, “I don’t know”  he said, “well if you did know – what would it be?”  She thought a moment and then said, “I feel responsible for my mother leaving when I was 12 years old”  She also discovered another personal truth from his words.  He said, “you are addicted to approval and will do anything to get it”  That was a true light-bulb moment for her.

I thought about this.  A personal truth would be something we cannot hide from ourselves – but most of the time if we’re very clever we can hide from others – but not God.  And since God knows all of our hidden thoughts and ‘truths’ – then He would also know it, wouldn’t He?  That is the very basic way that we are truly authentic with God – by allowing Him into that personal truth about ourselves.

My personal truth is something I’m still trying to formulate into words – but I am not leaving God out of the process – and I know I will be healthier because of this.  I will not try to stuff it down and pretend that He does not know it.  I will bring it to the surface and together we will work on it – bring clarity and light into something that I have become very clever at hiding – especially from Him.  This is a step in being absolutely authentic with Him.  And because He has proven Himself to me time and time again – rescued me from myself and many a disaster – I know He has broad enough shoulders to handle any weakness and darkness and all my contrary and rebellious ways.  And especially my personal truth.

What is your personal truth?  Is is something you have tried to hide from God?  I want to encourage you – no matter how long your walk with Him – ask yourself if He has ever heard you confess that personal truth?  Can you trust Him to walk you through it?

I am praying for you today

God Bless

Comments on: "What Is Your Personal Truth?" (4)

  1. […] What Is Your Personal Truth? (cindyholman.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Cindy, I really like the way you think, you are very transparent and straightforward. I am also trying to figure out my own personal “Truth”. It is interesting because I believe there is also an objective Truth out there, in addition to the personal “Truths” we all have in our individual minds. Jesus said, “I am the Way, The Truth, and the Life…” what exactly did Jesus mean by identifying himself with the “Truth” ? My own personal “Truth” is something I tend to suppress by living a routine and just going through the motions. Truth to me is when I sit down, stop what I am doing, and contemplate about my life, which some people might call prayer. During this quiet time, I question, reflect, hope, talk, and accept. I like doing it because it is a way to experience life the fullest, reviewing the status of my existence. but at the same time, I recognize I am not complete, I am not done with understanding or experiencing everything that there is to experience in this limited life. There is more, and I am living it step by step. I don’t know everything, but I trust God does which is whom I am relying on. My personal Truth? Simply a journey, where I learn as I go, and will eventually become more clear as I get older. A journey which I hope will not cease until by physical body dies and my real self (soul) unites with God (heaven, Karma, Being, etc.).

  3. […] What Is Your Personal Truth? (cindyholman.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

diana iannarone

Wake Up. Stand Up. Live Free. A Perceptual Approach to Rapid Growth and Permanent Change

Fallen Pastor

Helping fallen pastors and those affected by a fall from ministry

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

The Devotion Cafe'

Love and Empowerment

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Heart Club Band

⃟ What a strange world we live in... ⃟

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

The Fickle Heartbeat

A blog about love or lack thereof

knitting soul

turning the knots into something beautiful

Kristi Ann's Haven

Jesus ( Yeshua) Saves!!

PROJECT: A Journal for Project Management

Project is a journal for project managers to express their ideas and share their work through writing, conversation, design and image

The Light Post

Scott & Christina Graff

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

iwedplanner wedding vendors

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

Chickens Bring Peace to the Earth

Slow down, pray, make better choices

incomingfeed.wordpress.com/

Feed Only via TSS Team

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

FOGwalkerBirdie

Walking in the Favor Of God

PROPEL STEPS

Education is Everything

GIFT FROM THE HEART - Share and Care!

Appreciation, Respect and Gratitude towards all...... that there is!

Upside DIY

Born from the love of, "Do It Yourself" attitude!

Soul Access

LAY DOWN YOUR MASK AND BE KNOWN BELOVED

Traveling with Thomas

Follow me as I study in London and travel Europe

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Mercy Not Sacrifice

The Blog of Morgan Guyton

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Stealing Kisses & Making Mistakes.

Following God's path while stumbling through this world with a heart of a woman.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Ed Mooney Photography

The home of Kildare based Photographer, Blogger and self proclaimed Ruinhunter.

MyCreativeHaven

”Art washes from the soul the dust of everyday life.” -- Picasso.

gabrielsfury

poems & stories, thoughts about people and places between moments of clarity, or not.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

