Musings From A Musical Mind

Greg and I are dog sitting for our pastor and friend this week.  I have never owned a dog so I wondered how it would work out – but it’s been amazing.  Macy is a very sweet – but very active beagle.

Yesterday we took her for a long walk down by the Cedar River.  In the car she was not always happy to be just in the back seat by herself – she would hop up on my lap and try to poke her face out my window!  So cute – but she’s a heavy dog!  She also did NOT like staying on the trail – but sniffed EVERYTHING and went wildly running with reckless abandon!!  Because she is VERY STRONG Greg held her leash – after she about pulled my arm out!  It was very interesting seeing how she interacted with other dogs on the trail – and how the other dogs did the same – no matter how well-trained they were.

After we got home – we were eating dinner on our back deck – with Macy tied up in the yard with a long lease.  The little Chihuahua’s next door are quite BOSSY and were barking their “orders” to Macy from their backyard.  Macy barked back.  It was as if she was saying, “You’re NOT the boss of me!”

When was the last time you went on an adventure – or watched someone’s animal for them – only to learn something about them that was interesting and new?

When was the last time you barked to someone, “You’re NOT the boss of me”?

Here’s a picture of Macy

Enjoy and God Bless

 

Comments on: "You’re NOT The Boss Of Me" (18)

  1. Somehow I expected this post to be about you telling you pastor, “you are not the boss of me”. That sounded like fun entertainment. What a disappointment. Don’t get me wrong, I still loved the post and the cute dog, but I thought it was more… controversial. 🙂

    • I have kind of done that before – was not well received by our pastor at the time 😉 I wonder why. I am a little bit of a rebel – but only if I am not respected or properly heard – and he was NOT doing either one. Shame on him.

  2. Such a cute pup! We have a havanese and a boxer. There is lots of puppy energy around our house (even though neither of them are technically puppies anymore). 🙂

  3. We have a Golden Retriever named Royal and is so not Macy! Royal would let you be the
    boss of her…which reminds me that submission is good when it’s towards the Lord but
    so very dangerous when it’s towards things that would LOVE to be the boss of me! Things like fear or regret or passivity.
    Thanks Cindy for a good read!

    • Isn’t it interesting in the animal world – and in the human world too? We don’t want to be so submissive that we are stepped on in an unhealthy way – and yet we are taught to be submissive to the Lord. Clearly I have not found the balance in this either. Sometimes I stand up for myself with people – sometimes I don’t want an uncomfortable confrontation. And sometimes I haven’t learned when to let the Lord take the lead with my life without questioning and resisting. I guess we all need to learn to just trust – but it’s hard.

  4. Hey Cindy, haven’t dropped by in a while, thought I’d say hello. I signed up for that Google thing finally. Hope it changes my life.

    And dogs? Really? Dogs are good for two things: Sniffing other dog’s butts and eating their own poop.

    But I’m really glad you found one that seems worthwhile. It does seem sweet. :0)

    • Really? You seem like a dog lover! We’re looking into a puppy – now that we don’t have kiddos around the house – it might be nice 🙂 A nice companion for me when Greg works nights – would be nice also – we’ll see. I found you at google+ – I think it’s the new facebook and twitter combined – we’ll see.

  5. Macy is so cute! I love watching the Dog Whisperer even though I’m more of a cat person (I like dogs too though, but just prefer cats). Speaking of cats…I don’t often get to say “you’re not the boss of me”, but my cat is constantly reminding me that I’m not the boss of her, but she IS the boss of me, LOL!

    • She is a sweetie pie! Yes you’re right about cats – THEY are the ones telling YOU – are you kidding me? I’M THE BOSS!! Love it!

  6. Greg Barber said:

    Let mr know if you need someone to take the pup on a walk for you guys.

  7. Having 3 kids two years apart, if I heard this yelled out once, I heard it a gazillion times. Each kidlet would vie for dominance and this was the rallying cry! It was okay for them, but not when they used it on me. Au contraire! I most certainly AM the boss of you. So there! [insert raspberry here] I’m an animal person, period. That dog is definitely cute! We have left. . . let’s see. . . one ancient dog, only 5 cats and, oh yeah, the rabbit! That’s my husband’s girlfriend. He rescued her from being killed in the street and now she has her own 2-story hutch with play yard out in our back yard. She gets salad twice a day and lots of rabbit candy (carrots and apples). SHEESH There have been many times in my life I would rather have animals than people around me. You give an animal a little love and something to eat and you experience true unconditional love, especially dogs. No backstabbing. If you DO get a puppy, Cindy, go look at a shelter first, pretty please? Rescue dogs are the best. And remember that a puppy needs to be trained. Many older dogs make wonderful companions, but nobody wants them. Puppies don’t stay cute forever.

    • The kind of dog we want is a cross between a King Royal Cavalier and a Bichon Frise – called a Cavachon. They don’t shed and are considered a hypo-allergenic dog – sweet of temperament and the perfect lap dog. If I could find this at a rescue shelter I would adopt one 🙂

  8. I probably say “You’re not the boss of me!” on a daily basis. It’s one of my favorite phrases.

    I love dogs! How can you have never owned a dog? Are you more of a cat person, or just not generally an animal person at all?

    • Not really an animal person – had cats for a short time – didn’t like it. Tried owning a male pug once – but he was sick when we got him and decided it was too much for us so gave him back. This has been a good experience and we’ve been talking about getting a puppy 🙂 Just want to find the right one.

  9. Right now I’m barking at life saying, “You’re not the boss of me”, but apparently it is. Something I just have to accept right now.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

diana iannarone

Wake Up. Stand Up. Live Free. A Perceptual Approach to Rapid Growth and Permanent Change

Fallen Pastor

Helping fallen pastors and those affected by a fall from ministry

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

The Devotion Cafe'

Love and Empowerment

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Heart Club Band

⃟ What a strange world we live in... ⃟

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

The Fickle Heartbeat

A blog about love or lack thereof

knitting soul

turning the knots into something beautiful

Kristi Ann's Haven

Jesus ( Yeshua) Saves!!

GODINTEREST - Christian magazine covering faith, culture and life

Godinterest is a place to talk about God, Culture, Life and all that other stuff

The Light Post

Scott & Christina Graff

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

iwedplanner wedding vendors

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

Chickens Bring Peace to the Earth

Slow down, pray, make better choices

incomingfeed.wordpress.com/

Feed Only via TSS Team

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

FOGwalkerBirdie

Walking in the Favor Of God

PROPEL STEPS

Education is Everything

GIFT FROM THE HEART - Share and Care!

Appreciation, Respect and Gratitude towards all...... that there is!

Upside DIY

Born from the love of, "Do It Yourself" attitude!

Soul Access

LAY DOWN YOUR MASK AND BE KNOWN BELOVED

Traveling with Thomas

Follow me as I study in London and travel Europe

HarsH ReaLiTy

My goal with this blog is to offend everyone in the world at least once with my words… so no one has a reason to have a heightened sense of themselves. We are all ignorant, we are all found wanting, we are all bad people sometimes.

Mercy Not Sacrifice

The Blog of Morgan Guyton

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Stealing Kisses & Making Mistakes.

Following God's path while stumbling through this world with a heart of a woman.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Ed Mooney Photography

The home of Kildare based Photographer, Blogger and self proclaimed Ruinhunter.

MyCreativeHaven

”Art washes from the soul the dust of everyday life.” -- Picasso.

gabrielsfury

poems & stories, thoughts about people and places between moments of clarity, or not.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

