Musings From A Musical Mind

Grey Seal

Image representing Spotify as depicted in Crun...

Image via CrunchBase

My blogging and google+ buddies got me started on Spotify – a unique music software program that allows you to build a music library. I have been searching when I have a few minutes – for music from my past – things I have forgotten about. Back in the day I loved Elton John – and yesterday while searching through every song he ever recorded – stumbled on this one.  I haven’t heard it in 35 years.  Hope it brings back as many memories for you as it did for me 🙂

What is your most memorable music group from the past? Have you been able to dig up some of their songs lately with things like Spotify or YouTube?  I’d love to hear some of your favorites!

God Bless

Why’s it never light on my lawn
Why does it rain and never say good-day to the new-born
On the big screen they showed us a sun
But not as bright in life as the real one
It’s never quite the same as the real one
chorus
And tell me grey seal
How does it feel to be so wise
To see through eyes
That only see what’s real
Tell me grey seal

I never learned why meteors were formed
I only farmed in schools that were so worn and torn
If anyone can cry then so can I
I read books and draw life from the eye
All my life is drawings from the eye

[repeat chorus]

Your mission bells were wrought by ancient men
The roots were formed by twisted roots
Your roots were twisted then
I was re-born before all life could die
The Phoenix bird will leave this world to fly
If the Phoenix bird can fly then so can I

Comments on: "Grey Seal" (9)

  1. […] Grey Seal (cindyholman.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Does that album bring back memories! I remember riding our bikes down to the record shop and spending some of my hard earned money from raking yards (rocks in the desert) on that album. It was one of the best albums I’ve ever owned. Proof of that is this song. It is timeless. I know every word to every song on that double set album.

    I could name scads more albums or songs I liked, but I still love Elton John’s “Don’t Shoot Me I’m Only The Piano Player.” I mean who doesn’t love Crocodile Rock?

    • I love those too! I’m a die hard Elton fan – I think the songwriting team of Bernie Taupin and Elton John is brilliant – what a long career! I knew every one of those songs too – my husband thinks it’s amazing how I can remember song lyrics after so many years – just shows that it IS timeless – at least for us 🙂

  3. I love Elton John!! Levon (sp) and Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me are two of my favs. Madman Across the Water is a GREAT album! Bernie Taupin is a brilliant songwriter, a true genius.

    • “Don’t let the sun go down on me” is probably my favorite Elton John song of the 70’s – much later I discovered other great songs of his that were not so well known like “The One” that I love. I also love “Tiny Dancer” and “Your Song” never gets old – it’s great song writing, that’s why. Yes – a true genius songwriter and a wonderful duo 🙂

  4. I had this album.

  5. I used to love “losing my religion” but hadn’t heard it in a long time. I now have it on Spotify and listen to it all the time. Such a good song. Love Spotify!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

diana iannarone

Wake Up. Stand Up. Live Free. A Perceptual Approach to Rapid Growth and Permanent Change

Fallen Pastor

Helping fallen pastors and those affected by a fall from ministry

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

The Devotion Cafe'

Love and Empowerment

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Heart Club Band

⃟ What a strange world we live in... ⃟

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

The Fickle Heartbeat

A blog about love or lack thereof

knitting soul

turning the knots into something beautiful

Kristi Ann's Haven

Jesus ( Yeshua) Saves!!

GODINTEREST - Christian magazine covering faith, culture and life

Godinterest is a place to talk about God, Culture, Life and all that other stuff

The Light Post

Scott & Christina Graff

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

iwedplanner wedding vendors

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

Chickens Bring Peace to the Earth

Slow down, pray, make better choices

incomingfeed.wordpress.com/

Feed Only via TSS Team

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

FOGwalkerBirdie

Walking in the Favor Of God

PROPEL STEPS

Education is Everything

GIFT FROM THE HEART - Share and Care!

Appreciation, Respect and Gratitude towards all...... that there is!

Upside DIY

Born from the love of, "Do It Yourself" attitude!

Soul Access

LAY DOWN YOUR MASK AND BE KNOWN BELOVED

Traveling with Thomas

Follow me as I study in London and travel Europe

HarsH ReaLiTy

My goal with this blog is to offend everyone in the world at least once with my words… so no one has a reason to have a heightened sense of themselves. We are all ignorant, we are all found wanting, we are all bad people sometimes.

Mercy Not Sacrifice

The Blog of Morgan Guyton

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Stealing Kisses & Making Mistakes.

Following God's path while stumbling through this world with a heart of a woman.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Ed Mooney Photography

The home of Kildare based Photographer, Blogger and self proclaimed Ruinhunter.

MyCreativeHaven

”Art washes from the soul the dust of everyday life.” -- Picasso.

gabrielsfury

poems & stories, thoughts about people and places between moments of clarity, or not.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

