Musings From A Musical Mind

Secondhand Lions

Cover of "Secondhand Lions (New Line Plat...

Cover via Amazon

Greg and I own this movie and have watched it a few times in the last several years.  We pulled it out again just the other night to watch it again.  It’s one that you can literally watch over and over again and get something different from it each time.  It’s the story of a boy who is “dropped off” to live with his two great uncles, played by screen legends, Robert Duvall and Michael Caine.  As the story unfolds – so the amazing lives of these two older gentlemen and their heroic tales living 40 years in another country.  It is interwoven with adventure and morality, with humor and timeless values.  If you haven’t seen it – I highly recommend it not only for your children to watch with you – but for you to watch by yourselves.  You will especially love the bar fight scene and “the speech” that Robert Duvall’s character gives to all young men 🙂  And the ending?  My favorite part!

When was the last time you ever did something heroic in your life?  Did you ever want a lion for a pet?

Enjoy this music clip from the movie – written by the great Patrick Doyle.

God Bless

Comments on: "Secondhand Lions" (10)

  1. We’ve have the DVD (borrowed from my sister) for probably a year and have yet to watch it. Heard it was good, though. May have to set aside time this week to watch. Thanks for the recommendation!

  2. I loved that movie! I loved the analogy to the old guys and the old lion. The reality of life and getting old sent me to melancholyville. Robert Duvall fencing with his sword in the middle of the night reliving a past life was a dagger in my heart. It was a great movie. The kid grown up writing about his past is the perfect perspective for reflection. I watch that movie ever time it comes on TV.

    I’ve done heroic things and stupid things. At certain times in a young man’s life, it’s hard to know the difference. Thanks for the thought provoking post and question. It’s going to be in the forefront of my mind all day.

    • I’m so glad! A new provoking question for you to think about – Yay me! Love those kind of stories – either in books or on the movie screen. Timeless stories of courage, heros and love in and out of trouble and pain. It never gets old – because I can identify with it every time.

  3. Sounds like it’s right up my dd’s alley. I’ll have to see if we can get this on Netflix. I hadn’t heard of it before.

  4. I’ve wanted to see this for a long time, Cindy. I could remember the package, but not the name of it, so. . . Thanks! I’m going to rent it. Love the two main guys! Have I ever wanted a lion? Me? The cat lady? Actually. . . no. Wild animals belong in the wild. I love watching them, though, preferably in their native habitat. I used to marvel at the big cats in the zoo who acted just like my guys at home do. Heroic? No, I don’t think I’ve ever been a hero. I helped pick up a heat struck girl up from in front of my house the other night and we drove her home, but I’d consider that concerned, not heroic. I’ve seen a lot of other people do heroic deeds, though. Cops and firemen do them everyday!

    • That sounds pretty heroic to me, Carla! Sometimes we can’t see what others can see 🙂 Good for you for giving of yourself to other people – that makes you special and a HERO!

  5. I loved this movie but you know what? I can’t remember a stitch of it! 🙂 I guess it’s time to rewatch!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

diana iannarone

Wake Up. Stand Up. Live Free. A Perceptual Approach to Rapid Growth and Permanent Change

Fallen Pastor

Helping fallen pastors and those affected by a fall from ministry

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

The Devotion Cafe'

Love and Empowerment is the Foundation

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Heart Club Band

⃟ What a strange world we live in... ⃟

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

The Fickle Heartbeat

A blog about love or lack thereof

knitting soul

turning the knots into something beautiful

Kristi Ann's Haven

Jesus ( Yeshua) Saves!!

PROJECT: A Journal for Project Management

Project is a journal for project managers to express their ideas and share their work through writing, conversation, design and image

The Light Post

Scott & Christina Graff

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

iwedplanner wedding vendors

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

Chickens Bring Peace to the Earth

Slow down, pray, make better choices

incomingfeed.wordpress.com/

Feed Only via TSS Team

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

FOGwalkerBirdie

Walking in the Favor Of God

PROPEL STEPS

Education is Everything

GIFT FROM THE HEART - Share and Care!

Appreciation, Respect and Gratitude towards all...... that there is!

Upside DIY

Born from the love of, "Do It Yourself" attitude!

Soul Access

LAY DOWN YOUR MASK AND BE KNOWN BELOVED

Traveling with Thomas

Follow me as I study in London and travel Europe

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Mercy Not Sacrifice

The Blog of Morgan Guyton

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Stealing Kisses & Making Mistakes.

Following God's path while stumbling through this world with a heart of a woman.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Ed Mooney Photography

The home of Kildare based Photographer, Blogger and self proclaimed Ruinhunter.

MyCreativeHaven

”Art washes from the soul the dust of everyday life.” -- Picasso.

gabrielsfury

poems & stories, thoughts about people and places between moments of clarity, or not.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

