Musings From A Musical Mind

Music Of Your Life

Piano

Image via Wikipedia

This should be on my music blog – but because it is something that I have been thinking about for a while now – music being a HUGE part of my daily life – I thought I would write on this subject and  make it a part of my regular blog site today.

Music does so much more than just teach another language  and skill – or help you focus in another part of the brain – Music actually makes you feel happy.

As a music performer and instructor for most of my life – I can say that those of us in the music profession – actually feel joy in a real way that comes from our pores.  On more than several occasions I have seen it visibly lift the spirits of depression and sadness. Even those not thrilled about practicing the piano – will actually feel better after they do.  Those experiencing sadness, even grief – will feel better after singing for 30 minutes.

Yesterday I had the privilege of singing with a couple of young teenage girls – singing their hearts out  to Rascal Flatts and other artists they were familiar with.  It was great to see them come out of their shells and enjoy the moment – releasing the endorphins while singing – making them feel joy and happiness and a sense of well-being.  All three of us sang at the top of our lungs – and it felt good.

Now sometimes – music doesn’t bring a smile.  When it is forced.  When it is not rehearsed enough.  And sadly – when the student or artist does not know the difference.

I am a firm believer in the fact that when you rehearse something in haste – often times it can be learned wrong.  The brain cannot make a quick adjustment when corrected.  I have seen this many times in a student who learns a passage of music wrong – and then does not have the “ear” to be able to tell that it is wrong. They rehearse it wrong all week – and then when being corrected for that “wrong” part  – cannot make the shift in their brain.  It is almost too late for them.  Better to have learned it right – and have it take longer to learn – then to learn it wrong in the first place.  This takes patience, knowledge and an “ear” to tell if it’s wrong.

The reward for learning it correctly is in the happiness it brings – to both yourself and to others listening.

Music is not just learned and played correctly – but it is also felt.  Anyone can learn it – not everyone can feel it.  Ever heard a bad musician?  Then you know what I mean.  Ever hear a really good artist that feels what they play and sing?  Then you also know what I mean.

I want my students to both learn it correctly – and to feel it.  In this way – music can be learned and enjoyed – and truly bring a smile.

We all make music.  Whether we are musicians or not.  What do you do with the music of your life?  Do you go through the motions – like some of my piano students – learning things wrong with daily reinforcement?  Or do you have an “ear” to tell the difference?   Do you feel the music and rhythm of your life and as you do – does your life bring a smile of joy to others?  

May your music be pleasant to others today – bringing peace and joy to whoever it touches.  Amen.

God Bless

Comments on: "Music Of Your Life" (15)

  1. Your encouragement brings a smile of joy to me.

    Cheesy, but true. Thanks.

  2. Great article. I love music, and love worship. At one point I considered going into worship ministry, then I found out a “joyful noise” is sometimes tough to follow as a worship leader 🙂

    • Thanks so much for stopping over at my blog, Seth! It was great to meet you online, today 🙂 I’ve added you to my RSS feed on the right hand side of my page so I can follow your great articles 🙂

  3. Music is a huge part of my life. Love playing piano and singing and honestly, I wouldn’t be doing what I’m doing if it weren’t for a lot of prolonged times of worship as a teenager that God broke things off of me. I understand the power of music and how we use it to worship. It literally changed my life as I sought Him! Thanks Cindy.

  4. I love music… I have played little, although I understand “feeling” it. I’ve been kicking around the idea of a post on why or how a different song is playing in my head every morning when I wake up. Sometimes it will have been decades since I heard the song playing in my head.

    I truly appreciate music and your words have reminded me to sing. Not just sing, but sing at the top of my lungs and enjoy the gift of music God has provided.

    Do you wake up with a song in your head?

    • Sometimes – but most days when I’m working at my desk I have my spotify music playlist playing and it has many good memories for me – and helps me write 🙂 One of the songs we were singing at the top of our lungs was “My wish” by Rascal Flatts – one of their best – and “Rolling in the Deep” by Adele – very different song and very bluesy 🙂

  5. Great analogy! Love this!

  6. Cindy, you have a music blog? Play piano? Interesting.

  7. I was a voice major when I first started college. I have always loved music though I had to leave that major due to not being able to learn to read music. Music, to me, is something you hear, sing and feel; it’s not little dots on a page of lines.

    • Yeah – it’s both, really. If you can’t read music – it’s difficult to navigate through music and play it as written – especially classical music. So I say you have to be able to read to play it as the composer intended it – and then also – be able to feel the music. Now pop music can be played by ear – some of it anyway – and you can take your liberties with it. But I went to college with a guy that was in the same position as you – no piano lessons growing up and he was completely lost when trying to pass piano proficiency tests. You have to be able to read music to be a music major – no exceptions.

  8. Cindy, would you believe my first college experience was as a music major with. . . a bassoon? LOL I played lots of instruments when younger, not so much anymore. However, I hear you loud and clear. Music brings me joy. . . well, most of it does. I make playlists of songs that mean something to me and when I need a certain type of music to pick up my spirits, it’s ready. I also have a lot of songs associated with special moments in my life. Those are always joyful. If I have a lot of work and don’t play my tunes on a regular basis, I do, in fact, get down. So I’m off to spin some melodies. . . 🙂

    • A Bassoon? That’s great! I don’t think I’ve ever known anyone who did a music major with that instrument! Yes – I agree – I make most of my listening CD’s for the car and put a playlist together all the time on spotify – things I like and make me happy or just deep in thought mood music 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

diana iannarone

Wake Up. Stand Up. Live Free. A Perceptual Approach to Rapid Growth and Permanent Change

Fallen Pastor

Helping fallen pastors and those affected by a fall from ministry

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

The Devotion Cafe'

Love and Empowerment

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Heart Club Band

⃟ What a strange world we live in... ⃟

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

The Fickle Heartbeat

A blog about love or lack thereof

knitting soul

turning the knots into something beautiful

Kristi Ann's Haven

Jesus ( Yeshua) Saves!!

PROJECT: A Journal for Project Management

Project is a journal for project managers to express their ideas and share their work through writing, conversation, design and image

The Light Post

Scott & Christina Graff

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

iwedplanner wedding vendors

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

Chickens Bring Peace to the Earth

Slow down, pray, make better choices

incomingfeed.wordpress.com/

Feed Only via TSS Team

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

FOGwalkerBirdie

Walking in the Favor Of God

PROPEL STEPS

Education is Everything

GIFT FROM THE HEART - Share and Care!

Appreciation, Respect and Gratitude towards all...... that there is!

Upside DIY

Born from the love of, "Do It Yourself" attitude!

Soul Access

LAY DOWN YOUR MASK AND BE KNOWN BELOVED

Traveling with Thomas

Follow me as I study in London and travel Europe

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Mercy Not Sacrifice

The Blog of Morgan Guyton

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Stealing Kisses & Making Mistakes.

Following God's path while stumbling through this world with a heart of a woman.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Ed Mooney Photography

The home of Kildare based Photographer, Blogger and self proclaimed Ruinhunter.

MyCreativeHaven

”Art washes from the soul the dust of everyday life.” -- Picasso.

gabrielsfury

poems & stories, thoughts about people and places between moments of clarity, or not.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

