Musings From A Musical Mind

I’m Drinking ACV

Aspall Cyder Vinegar 2

Image by AndyRobertsPhotos via Flickr

Over the last month I’ve been on a fitness program with a little help from a website and app called myfitnesspal.com.  I’ve been keeping track of every food and drink item consumed and limited to a certain amount of calories per day.  This has been great discipline for me – I never kept track before.  It was a revelation to learn just how many calories are in certain foods (and drinks) that I love.

So the good news is this:  After a month of concentrated effort –  I’ve actually lost 8 pounds – and expect to lose about 15 total before going on our cruise to Alaska next month.  Yay!

Here’s the bad news:  Changes in eating habits can bring changes in your body balance and hormone levels – bringing allergic reactions to your skin.  I have started developing eczema on my arms.  I’ve always had a little of this on my head (a lovely present inherited from my Dad) but never on any other area of my body.  Oh I tried hydrocordisone cream and ointment – neither had any lasting effect.  Thinking it might be brought on my too much sun – or by a bug bite – I took Benadryl.  Nothing worked.

So I googled it.  And I kept coming up with the same answer.  Eczema is an internal problem and it needs to be fixed from within.  Creams and lotions can only do so much.  I also found other people who had suffered with this for years – and learned what they have done to cure it.  The common denominator in my findings was this:

Apple Cider Vinegar

There are healing properties in the fermentation process  that will actually dry up and heal eczema – among other things that vinegar will do.  I found a 22-year-old female in the entertainment business (okay, she’s a stripper) and she said,  “I can’t afford to have eczema on my elbows for my job”.  So she did months of research and came up with a “cure” for her problem.

Here’s what she did – I’m not making this up.

1.  She went to the grocery store and bought Apple Cider Vinegar, Activia yogurt, Aloe Vera liquid, Crisco shortening, and Dove unscented soap.  (I bought the unscented body wash)

2.  She went home and poured the vinegar into a bowl and soaked her elbows for 10 minutes – let them air dry – then put the Crisco on top.  She ate 2 yogurts and drank some aloe vera liquid.  Before bed she repeated.  By morning her rash was faded – and she repeated the process for 2 more days until rash was gone.

I thought – Wow – could this really work?  I googled some more and found out that other people have discovered the same thing about ACV – even bathe their children suffering from eczema in a bath with vinegar.  Some suggested putting a 50/50 solution of it in a spray bottle and simply spraying in on the affected areas and letting air dry.

Because this is a problem that is internal – it was also suggested that you drink some of the vinegar every day.

So – like a trooper and “early adopter” that I am – I went to the store and picked up my items to begin my process of healing my red patches.  I followed the steps above – instead of dipping elbows – mine was on my arms – I just simply used a cloth – and some cotton balls soaked with vinegar.  It stung just a little – but it was okay – and soon the itching went away.  I did this a couple of times and then followed up with the Crisco on top.  I ate a yogurt – one in the afternoon and one before bed.  Then I drank 1/4 cup of aloe vera.  That stuff is nasty.  Then I drank some APV.  Yes I did.  Straight up.  About 2 Tablespoons.  That stuff will take your breath away.  Seriously.  So I read that someone mixed it in their V-8 juice – and that made it better.  It does.

I went to bed last night – all lathered up in Crisco – slept like a baby and woke up this morning with the patches VERY FADED.  Yay!  I am repeating the process today.

Greg says my night table looks like I’m ready to pickle something or bake a pie – he’s not sure which one 🙂  But I’m very happy about not having to get ANOTHER cream.  And both vinegar and Crisco – do wonders for the skin 🙂  I rubbed my cracked heels with some Crisco and my cuticles – they were really soft this morning.  Maybe those super models are on to something after all!

I say – go natural.  Look it up – do your own research.  If you suffer with eczema like me – you might be pleasantly surprised to learn that a little ACV, Activia yogurt, Aloe Vera liquid and Crisco might actually be a cure 🙂

Until I find something better – I’m sticking to drinking my ACV!  Below are some related articles for many other uses and benefits for Apple Cider Vinegar.  Check it out!

Here’s to you and to good health!

God Bless!

Comments on: "I’m Drinking ACV" (10)

  1. I use Bragg’s Apple Cider Vinegar, but I’ve never used it like this! ACV is a miracle for lots of things. And congrats on the 8 pounds gone! That’s wonderful, Cindy!

  2. Hey I’m sorry, I forgot to tell you congrats on the losing weight. It is no small thing to lose weight. For the record, the ACV is supposed to get the alkaline or acidity back into normal levels and causes natural weight loss.

    Good job, hang in there and stay focused on the prize. Plan or schedule a picture event for a certain day before your trip and leave a note on your mirror or frig. I know from experience this is a powerful tool.

  3. Congrats on the loss. Keep up the great work!

  4. That’s very bizarre. I have heard of home remedies that actually help, so if this does, then I’m all for it. Just be careful what you put on you since home remedies have also been known to cause other allergic reactions.

    Oh and for the record: I’m down 11 lbs in 4 weeks. I love my LoseIt app. 🙂

    • Does that mean if I join LoseIt – I’ll lose that much in 4 weeks too? NOT! You men have all the luck when it comes to weight loss!! I have worked very hard for that 8 pounds!

  5. Wow! Well you won’t be surprised to know that I drink ACV every morning with a touch of honey and distilled water, right before that I swig a gulp of Aloe Vera juice. I started doing it a couple of years ago for my cholesterol, since that time, I’ve only had one sore throat which has been an issue with me my whole life.

    Great minds think alike! (or crazy ones?)

    • Oh my goodness! Really? Glad I’m not the only crazy one out there! That’s SO COOL! I’m going to try the ACV with a little honey – it’s pretty good in the V-8 too – I get the low sodium. But if I don’t stir it in (like this morning) and just add a little on top – WOW. Totally took my breath away! I’m even using it on my scalp in the shower 😉 I’ve read lots of great things about replacing your normal shampoo for Dr. Bonner’s soap and vinegar – I’m going to try it 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

diana iannarone

Wake Up. Stand Up. Live Free. A Perceptual Approach to Rapid Growth and Permanent Change

Fallen Pastor

Helping fallen pastors and those affected by a fall from ministry

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

The Devotion Cafe'

Love and Empowerment

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Heart Club Band

⃟ What a strange world we live in... ⃟

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

The Fickle Heartbeat

A blog about love or lack thereof

knitting soul

turning the knots into something beautiful

Kristi Ann's Haven

Jesus ( Yeshua) Saves!!

GODINTEREST - Christian blog covering faith, culture and life

Christian Articles, Christian News, Information and Resources. All God centred posts by Godinterest

The Light Post

Scott & Christina Graff

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

iwedplanner wedding vendors

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

Chickens Bring Peace to the Earth

Slow down, pray, make better choices

incomingfeed.wordpress.com/

Feed Only via TSS Team

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

FOGwalkerBirdie

Walking in the Favor Of God

PROPEL STEPS

Education is Everything

GIFT FROM THE HEART - Share and Care!

Appreciation, Respect and Gratitude towards all...... that there is!

Upside DIY

Born from the love of, "Do It Yourself" attitude!

Soul Access

LAY DOWN YOUR MASK AND BE KNOWN BELOVED

Traveling with Thomas

Follow me as I study in London and travel Europe

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Mercy Not Sacrifice

The Blog of Morgan Guyton

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Stealing Kisses & Making Mistakes.

Following God's path while stumbling through this world with a heart of a woman.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Ed Mooney Photography

The home of Kildare based Photographer, Blogger and self proclaimed Ruinhunter.

MyCreativeHaven

”Art washes from the soul the dust of everyday life.” -- Picasso.

gabrielsfury

poems & stories, thoughts about people and places between moments of clarity, or not.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

