Musings From A Musical Mind

Alaska Bound!

Celebrity Infinity docked in Gastineau Channel...

Image via Wikipedia

In 2 days we board the Celebrity Infinity and head to Alaska for a 10 day cruise 🙂  This trip has been thought about and carefully planned for about a year and a half now – and we are so blessed to be going with our daughter and son-in-law to help us celebrate our 30th anniversary.  That is our cruise ship in the picture – docked in Juneau, Alaska which is one of our destinations.  Greg and I lived in Juneau right out of Bible school – almost 30 years ago – and we also lived in Fairbanks for a year.  Greg spent his high school years there after his parents moved up there from California in 1975.  So every time we visit Alaska (this is our second Alaska cruise) it’s a little like coming home for him.

This is the first time we’ve gone away on a cruise or long vacation after both our children have grown and gone – no one living at home any more.  So we decided that our house would be lonely without anyone there – and we will have someone staying while we are gone – to take in the mail and take out the garbage and speak loving and kind words to our place while sleeping here at night – so it won’t cry or miss us too much.  Thank you, Sam!  We have really great nosey neighbors too – one of which has  hyper little barking dogs who bark at anything amiss – so it makes us feel very safe.  I know they will all be watching out for our place and help Sam feel safe and comfortable too.

It has been a hilarious couple of days trying to get things together and wrap up the work week, Greg taking extra jobs where he “moonlights” –  and me with my students, knowing I will miss a week of lessons with them.  I went today to get my hair foiled by my daughter, Ashlee and we had quite a fun time together as she discovered from me – to her horror – that we get back on a Monday morning – instead of a Sunday, which was what she and her husband thought – and planned their work schedules around.  It caused quite a flurry of excitement and many phone calls were made while I was sitting in the chair with part of my hair in foils.  I’m sure everyone (including me) was highly amused at the drama that one little day can make.  I kidded her and told her that we could leave her in Victoria to hitch a ride back to Seattle while we enjoyed one more night on the cruise if she had to get back early – but she did not think that was funny.  Hmmm – I don’t know why 😉  Luckily everyone has been very understanding and told her to have a great vacation.

My kids have always been a great source of amusement for Greg and me over the years – and I see it has not changed, even with Ashlee an old married lady now.  We shall have great fun – our son-in-law is a funny and wonderful guy and it’s fun spending time with him.  I fully intend to TEASE HIM unmercifully about NOT reading the itinerary for the cruise correctly.  He has ALWAYS found ANYTHING to tease me about over the years – and this will be REALLY FUN 🙂

I shall be taking a break from my blog – but not from life, my friends and social networking in general – as we will be able to check in from any port in Alaska along the way – and it will be fun to share pictures and to hear from all of you while we’re gone.  Another fun thing to look forward to – is picking up our little puppy when we return.  I will miss reading many of the blogs that I have on the side of my page – and will have lots of catching up to do when I get back.

I’m packing for cooler rainy weather.  The scenery up there is second to none – but it will be a little chilly – taking much more than I need too, I’m sure.

Drop me a line on here, facebook or twitter – and I’ll return it as soon as I get to another port of call.

So until we return on the 26th I will imagine all my blogging buddies here at home far and wide wishing me and my husband,  Bon Voyage 🙂  I wish I could take you all on the adventure with us – but I will have wonderful pictures to share with you soon!

God Bless

Comments on: "Alaska Bound!" (18)

  1. […] Alaska Bound! (cindyholman.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] Alaska Bound! (cindyholman.wordpress.com) Share this: Publish to your pageFacebookTwitterEmailPrintStumbleUponLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. from → Cruise critique ← Faith, Hope and Puppy Dogs No comments yet […]

  3. Sounds like a wonderful trip, Cindy! Enjoy! Drink deeply the beauty of His creation.

  4. Wow, sounds like an amazing trip. Have a blast and take lots of pictures!!

  5. Awesome! Have a blast! That ship looks just like the Titanic. interesting. 🙂

    Seriously, have fun, relax, put your feet up and enjoy the beauty of God’s creation.

    • Thanks Moe – now that you mention it looking like the Titanic…IT DOES!! Wow. Yes – we’re going to have fun, relax AND enjoy the beauty of Alaska 🙂 See you on the flip side – have a wonderful 10 days 🙂

  6. Have fun, and Congrats!

  7. Wow! What an amazing tip! Have fun.

  8. I’ll give you a Bon Voyage, Cindy! Sounds like great fun will be had by all. See ya when you get back. 🙂

  9. Jason Stasyszen said:

    Cindy, I’m so sad I don’t get to meet you and Greg in person! I’m sure you’ll still have fun in Juneau (although I’m sure it will be lessened to some degree). 🙂 be blessed!

  10. There’s an idea…a blogging conference/cruise!!! Wouldn’t that be amazing?

    Cheers to you and Greg. May your time together be precious and may you all create wonderful memories over your journey. Have a fabulous time! I’ve always wanted to go on one of those cruises to Alaska. Maybe someday…:)

    • Yes! You know they have those little short Pacific Northwest Cruises – 3 and 4 days – really inexpensive – been on several of those – that would be A BLAST!!! Do you think we could get everyone to go? How about next year? Someday you and your husband will have to go to Alaska – it’s AMAZING. Thanks for much Keri!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

diana iannarone

Wake Up. Stand Up. Live Free. A Perceptual Approach to Rapid Growth and Permanent Change

Fallen Pastor

Helping fallen pastors and those affected by a fall from ministry

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

The Devotion Cafe'

Love and Empowerment

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Heart Club Band

⃟ What a strange world we live in... ⃟

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

The Fickle Heartbeat

A blog about love or lack thereof

knitting soul

turning the knots into something beautiful

Kristi Ann's Haven

Jesus ( Yeshua) Saves!!

Godinterest Blog

Your source for insights and information about Godinterest.com

The Light Post

Scott & Christina Graff

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

iwedplanner wedding vendors

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

Chickens Bring Peace to the Earth

Slow down, pray, make better choices

incomingfeed.wordpress.com/

Feed Only via TSS Team

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

FOGwalkerBirdie

Walking in the Favor Of God

PROPEL STEPS

Education is Everything

GIFT FROM THE HEART - Share and Care!

Appreciation, Respect and Gratitude towards all...... that there is!

Upside DIY

Born from the love of, "Do It Yourself" attitude!

Soul Access

LAY DOWN YOUR MASK AND BE KNOWN BELOVED

Traveling with Thomas

Follow me as I study in London and travel Europe

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Mercy Not Sacrifice

The Blog of Morgan Guyton

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Stealing Kisses & Making Mistakes.

Following God's path while stumbling through this world with a heart of a woman.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Ed Mooney Photography

The home of Kildare based Photographer, Blogger and self proclaimed Ruinhunter.

MyCreativeHaven

”Art washes from the soul the dust of everyday life.” -- Picasso.

gabrielsfury

poems & stories, thoughts about people and places between moments of clarity, or not.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

