Musings From A Musical Mind

Welcome Home

Beloved, Lift Your Head

Grace and peace to you from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.  Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort,  who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God.  For just as the sufferings of Christ flow over into our lives, so also through Christ our comfort overflows.

2 Corinthians 1:2-5

Lately there has been much sadness in our world.  Many losses, hurts and pain.  But when we concentrate on a scripture such as the one above that has so much comfort and hope – we are encouraged and given new strength to go on.

When things happen unexpectedly, such as a sudden death in someone young – it always catches us off guard – but God is never caught off guard.  He knows the total number of our days.  And He promises to be there to walk through any difficult season that we may have to face here on earth.

When we lose someone – we grieve.  But we grieve for ourselvesnot for them.  It is a necessary process we must all walk through.

Some of the comfort we receive is in knowing that they are safely home – in the arms of Jesus.  Other comfort is from family and friends – who offer support and encouragement to go on.

There is no right or wrong way to grieve.  Instead we should say:

When we grieve.

Because we do.  Because we will.  And God knows this.

And because there are no answers to the questions – we must trust that He is still working behind the scenes, far beyond what we can understand – to bring about His purpose and plan to save a lost and dying world – even if it means that we lose something in the process.

For them – to die is really gain.  And when we die – the same is true for us.  As Christ followers we have that incredible hope.

The following video is the story behind the song by Michael W. Smith, “Welcome Home” – I know that the testimony of the parents who lost their college age son – will encourage you today.  And below this video – is the actual song with lyrics.

If you are grieving today, or know someone who is – I encourage you to watch both of these videos today.

 

God Bless

[VERSE 1]
I can’t believe that I’m here
Having to say goodbye.
And I can barely see you through
These tears I cry.
I close my eyes.

[CHORUS]
I can hear the sound
As angels gather ’round
Saying this is where you belong
Welcome Home!

[VERSE 2]
There are the days that my heart aches
wishing you were here.
But I know where you are
The hurt and the pain disappear.
There’s no more tears.

Chorus

Welcome Home!

Chorus

What a lovely sound
Angels all around
Saying this is where you belong
Welcome Home!
Welcome Home!
Welcome Home!

Comments on: "Welcome Home" (11)

  1. Debi Selix (Verwers) said:

    Perfect timing Cindy….I sure miss my Parents, but they are home, together as it should be!!

  2. I like what you said about “we grieve for ourselves.” So true. Yes, we grieve the passing of our loved ones, but the sorrow is being left here without them. Why do Christians struggle? Because we’re here and not where we’re supposed to be. Those who preach lollipops and roses Christianity upset me. It’s not like that and Jesus never said it would be.

  3. Going through the experience of losing a loved one is such a heart breaking thing. When I went through the stormy waters of the passing of my 11 yr old son I found the verse ‘the
    wages of sin is death….’ so very sobering. Sin brought the ultimate conclusion. The awfulness (for lack of a better word) was determined in the Garden. Separation/death was the conclusion. I’m not sure we as a people, in general, really view sin for how God views it and I, for one, didn’t understand until the Lord let me feel it’s full impact. But it was there that I found my fellowship with Him the sweetest. It was there that the rest of the verse became very real….’but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord.’ Romans 6:23.
    In John 17:3 it says ‘And this is life eternal, that they might know thee the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom thou hast sent.’ I knew Jesus Christ my Savior when my son pasted on, but it was then that I entered into a much deeper and intimate relationship. Only Jesus knows the depth of inner pain within a heart and soul. Only he can heal a broken heart. Only He can understand….only Jesus. Not even my husband, children nor parents. And it brought me much comfort to know that the very One that I communed with was in the presence of my son at that very moment too. Think about that. As I communed with my Savior, my son was there, too. Who in this earthly world could bring that kind of comfort to my soul? Only my Beloved could ever do such a thing. I still miss my son….no
    doubt there. But I have that blessed hope that is given to me in His word that someday I shall be transported in the air to be forever (and ever) with Him and all those that love His appearing and we will be all together with those who have gone ahead……even come Lord Jesus! even so come….

    • Thanks so much for visiting my blog site and leaving this awesome and heart-felt comment! I’m so sorry for your loss! I can’t even beging to imagine the road you have walked down and I’m so glad to hear that you have found comfort in the words of Jesus. I will be visiting your blog – glad you found me!

    • Thank you so much for your words of kindness and also for taking the time to visit my blog. I must confess….all this is new to me. I’ve never blogged before and I not quite sure of what I’m doing. But this I do know, the days are short and I have such a desire for all to know Jesus Christ and Him crucified, to know the love of God. I’ll be sure to follow your blog and I’ll be praying that the Lord will guide you in glorifying Him in it. And I’m glad I found you, too.! 🙂

  4. What a powerful song. I hadn’t heard it before this post. Oh and I still struggle as well.

    • Michael W. Smith has several songs about death, heaven and grief – I think it has hit him very personally, so he is able to write about it so beautifully 🙂

  5. Which brings up a good point! Why do Christians struggle? Some would argue that if we were really full of the spirit then death and dying and even daily challenges would not be struggles – just opportunities. But sadly, I still struggle.

  6. I don’t think it’s the dying that brings the Christian grief, it’s the struggles before we are able to go home to the Lord.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

diana iannarone

Wake Up. Stand Up. Live Free. A Perceptual Approach to Rapid Growth and Permanent Change

Fallen Pastor

Helping fallen pastors and those affected by a fall from ministry

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

The Devotion Cafe'

Love and Empowerment

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Heart Club Band

⃟ What a strange world we live in... ⃟

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

The Fickle Heartbeat

A blog about love or lack thereof

knitting soul

turning the knots into something beautiful

Kristi Ann's Haven

Jesus ( Yeshua) Saves!!

GODINTEREST - Christian magazine covering faith, culture and life

Godinterest is a place to talk about God, Culture, Life and all that other stuff

The Light Post

Scott & Christina Graff

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

iwedplanner wedding vendors

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

Chickens Bring Peace to the Earth

Slow down, pray, make better choices

incomingfeed.wordpress.com/

Feed Only via TSS Team

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

FOGwalkerBirdie

Walking in the Favor Of God

PROPEL STEPS

Education is Everything

GIFT FROM THE HEART - Share and Care!

Appreciation, Respect and Gratitude towards all...... that there is!

Upside DIY

Born from the love of, "Do It Yourself" attitude!

Soul Access

LAY DOWN YOUR MASK AND BE KNOWN BELOVED

Traveling with Thomas

Follow me as I study in London and travel Europe

HarsH ReaLiTy

My goal with this blog is to offend everyone in the world at least once with my words… so no one has a reason to have a heightened sense of themselves. We are all ignorant, we are all found wanting, we are all bad people sometimes.

Mercy Not Sacrifice

The Blog of Morgan Guyton

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Stealing Kisses & Making Mistakes.

Following God's path while stumbling through this world with a heart of a woman.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Ed Mooney Photography

The home of Kildare based Photographer, Blogger and self proclaimed Ruinhunter.

MyCreativeHaven

”Art washes from the soul the dust of everyday life.” -- Picasso.

gabrielsfury

poems & stories, thoughts about people and places between moments of clarity, or not.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

