Musings From A Musical Mind

Music That I Love

English: Classical music. Public domain. Old e...

Image via Wikipedia

When I was growing up – KJR was the cool station that played the top 40’s.  I remember the music from the early 70’s and the count down with Casey Kasem every Saturday night.

Music has changed over the last 40 years – but I am still comfortable with music I grew up with and listened to during those crazy teenage years.  It’s comforting somehow – I can’t explain it.

My Dad always preferred classical music – so that is what was always played in our home  – even during every meal.

I studied music in college – even got a degree in vocal performance and had to study many different types of music – much of it classical.  I never developed a real love for it though, much to my dad’s disappointment, I’m sure.  I can appreciate it – which is something entirely different.  Mozart was a genius and so were many of the others – but I must admit – I can only listen to their creations in small doses before it starts making me edgy.

For example:

I was trying to find a station the other day, had grown tired of 106.9 because of the commercials and went exploring – and stopped on a lovely slow classical piece on the classical station.  I stepped into the shower hoping to have a lovely time relaxing and listening – and at first it was lovely – but then the tempo changed and suddenly everything became frantic and fast paced – and I found myself getting nervous and agitated.  I thought to myself, “this is why I don’t listen to classical music”.

I also don’t like commercials – who does?  Radio is really irritating to me – which is one of the reasons why I don’t like the Christian station 105.3.  WAY too many commercials for my taste – it’s not that I don’t like Christian contemporary – I think I like most everything (in moderation that is) it’s the commercials that drive me insane.

Then I remembered 95.7 – the oldies station for Seattle with very limited commercials and almost every song they play – I LOVE!

I played it today while in the shower and getting ready for the day – and it was so refreshing to me.  Don’t you just love it when music does that?

Now there’s nothing wrong with classical, or Christian contemporary, or smooth Jazz or easy listening – but if it’s something that relaxes me – it’s oldies and easy listening from the 70’s – up to today.

That being said – I also LOVE instrumental movie soundtracks.  James Horner and people like David Foster are amazing for bringing great music to highlight and bring out the very best in a film.  My very favorites are “To Kill A Mockingbird” by Leonard Bernstein and “Meet Joe Black” by Thomas Newman.  These are some of the modern-day genius composers and I know there are others.

I’m fascinated by all sorts of talent – old and new and LOVE a wide range of styles.  Christian music is far too limiting for me – although I have been criticized for being so open to other more popular kinds of styles.  It doesn’t bother me – I am secure in who I am.  I was raised in a fundamental Christian home where only classical music was played – so I feel no guilt in my departure from mainline Christian music.

That being said – I do love some of the more modern worship choruses sung today in our church worship services – not all – but definitely some.  I’m not big on repetition and so it’s hard to sing the same thing over and over, but there are some really beautiful new creations and I have been amazed at how much I really connect with them and love the lyrics.  And I only like the older hymns if they are not so predictable and stuffy.  I love beautiful chord structures and variety – inspiring lyrics and something that moves me – not just the status quo.

Because we have a great big world and much to listen to, appreciate and inspire us – I feel it is a shame to limit to just one style.  At the moment I’m listening to Jackie Evancho singing “Pie Jesu” with beautiful clarity, like an angel – and then I will hear James Taylor, Billy Joel or Josh Groban and they all make me feel happy – like an old friend.

Don’t you love that – when music has the power to make you feel happy?  Put a smile on your face – and a dance in your step?  Me too.

What’s your favorite station?  What song makes you feel good – makes you smile?  If you wrote it down, would you feel that someone might criticize you?   Here are a few of mine:

Jump  – by the Pointer Sisters

Sister Moonshine – by Supertramp

When you say you love me  – Josh Groban

Sweet Darling – Heart

Loving Arms – Darden Smith

Tiny Dancer – Elton John

Reaching – Bill and Gloria Gaither

January Rain – David Gray

Wild Horses – Susan Boyle

Leesha – Michael W. Smith

Shine on us – Phillips, Craig and Dean

and SO MANY others!

I hope you’ll share some of your favorites with me 🙂

God Bless

Comments on: "Music That I Love" (3)

  1. […] Music That I Love (cindyholman.com) […]

  2. My parents were young when they had children. They listened to contemporary music when I was growing up. So the music I heard is now REALLY the oldies. And they didn’t always like the most popular stuff at the time. Those are the ones that feel like home to me. The Wreck of the Edmond Fitzgerald. Johnny Cash. The Mamas and the Papas. Send in the Clowns. That kind of stuff.

    I didn’t like many of the songs of the 70s growing up. They were all about dancing and not anything I felt was of real value. The songs were boring both musically and otherwise. “Boogie Oogie Oogie” just didn’t do it for me. My dh loves Disco. ICK.

    After becoming a Christian I find that I really need to keep reminding myself that God is here and working in my life. So many things about my life.since I became a CHristian, are difficult.Many that were difficult before I became a Christian are now even more difficult. I just need Him.

    I hear ya about the commercials. Most stations are filled with them, but my Christain station is privately funded through donations. No commercials EVER. The issue does become a problem at Telethon Time when they need more donations. Then the comercials are all for donations and the DJs talking about donations.

    I can’t get my favorite station at my house so I end up listening to YouTube videos of all my favorite songs. And I’m the kind of person that plays them over and over and over. Used to do that and wear out the record. Now I can do that to my heart’scontent on YouTube and it never wears out. lol No commercials and I can listen to whatever I like as many times in a row as I need to remind me God is here.

    • I hear you about dance and disco music. Yuck. Greg LOVES the Bee Gee’s because of the beat – but I like slower love songs – like Bread, Carpenter’s and James Taylor. There were so many great things about the 70’s other than dance and disco music. Have you tried Spotify? You can create your own playlist on your computer and then listen to your favorite songs over and over again instead of youtube and having to press “play” every time you want to listen to the song again. It takes a little time to get a list together because it’s chosen by YOU song by song – but it’s worth it. I have the free version – but many have the pain version which means you can have the music in your car or any other computer any time. I mostly use mine at my desk so this is fine for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

diana iannarone

Wake Up. Stand Up. Live Free. A Perceptual Approach to Rapid Growth and Permanent Change

Fallen Pastor

Helping fallen pastors and those affected by a fall from ministry

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

The Devotion Cafe'

Love and Empowerment

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Heart Club Band

⃟ What a strange world we live in... ⃟

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

The Fickle Heartbeat

A blog about love or lack thereof

knitting soul

turning the knots into something beautiful

Kristi Ann's Haven

Jesus ( Yeshua) Saves!!

Godinterest Blog

All God-centered articles and blog posts from Godinterest

The Light Post

Scott & Christina Graff

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

iwedplanner wedding vendors

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

Chickens Bring Peace to the Earth

Slow down, pray, make better choices

incomingfeed.wordpress.com/

Feed Only via TSS Team

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

FOGwalkerBirdie

Walking in the Favor Of God

PROPEL STEPS

Education is Everything

GIFT FROM THE HEART - Share and Care!

Appreciation, Respect and Gratitude towards all...... that there is!

Upside DIY

Born from the love of, "Do It Yourself" attitude!

Soul Access

LAY DOWN YOUR MASK AND BE KNOWN BELOVED

Traveling with Thomas

Follow me as I study in London and travel Europe

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Mercy Not Sacrifice

The Blog of Morgan Guyton

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Stealing Kisses & Making Mistakes.

Following God's path while stumbling through this world with a heart of a woman.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Ed Mooney Photography

The home of Kildare based Photographer, Blogger and self proclaimed Ruinhunter.

MyCreativeHaven

”Art washes from the soul the dust of everyday life.” -- Picasso.

gabrielsfury

poems & stories, thoughts about people and places between moments of clarity, or not.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

