Musings From A Musical Mind

It Could Have Been Worse

Cover of "It Could Have Been Worse"

Cover of It Could Have Been Worse

For some strange reason I have a weird way of looking at things.  Good things happen.  Bad things happen.  Really ugly things happen.  I find myself thinking – this could have been worse.

Does everyone think like this?  I’m not sure.  I don’t think so.  I see people around me that are stuck in a quick sand of bad circumstances that have bullied them and beaten them down – until they are a mere shadow of their former selves.  Somehow they have not been able to rise above the negative, hurt and sadness in their lives.

Jeremiah 29:11 says:

 

11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

 

This in itself should give us that ability to “press on” even in times of unusual stress and bad times.  But sadly, I know it is not.

When something bad happens to me my first response is not, “Thank you, Lord – I see this is going to hurt but I also know you’re going to teach me something through this”  Not at all!  But I have found that much later it helps to practice this one thing:    I have allowed my thoughts to go to a place that could have been worse.   There is always something worse.

I fell the other day.  My own stupidity.  Tripped over a carpet end after trying to go over a puppy gate.  I got my one foot caught on the end of the carpet and the other foot did not make it over the gate.  I hung for a moment suspended in an awkward straddled position and then gravity propelled me forward and on to an oak side table.  The momentum was so great that the side table actually broke as I fell on it.  Can you say, “Ouch”?  Needless to say my side that hit and broke the table was VERY sore and badly bruised.  My foot that was caught in the rug, twisted as I fell – another “Ouch” – and I had several other bruises on my arm and hand.  Oh I still have the visual reminders of my fall – and probably will have them for a while.  A bruise is still a bruise after all – and it still hurts.

But oddly enough, as in other unfortunate circumstances that have come my way (and plenty of them) – I have started allowing my thoughts to take me to a place of “what-ifs” instead of just “Oh-Nos!”   You know that place.  The place that is “better” or “worse” depending on how you look at it.  It’s more than just a “glass half empty or full” it’s a place of real discovery.  The discovery is in how I choose to be defined by what happens to me.

I always try to choose blessing and see God’s protection on my life.  Even in the bad things that come my way.  Even in the bad fall.  Here’s what I thought:  “This could have been so much worse.  If I had been older, had less padding and my bones had been more brittle, I surely would have broken my hip or cracked a rib.  I would have not just twisted and bruised my foot – I would have badly sprained or broken it.  The blessing is that I only have bad bruises and a little limp while I recover but  this too shall pass.

I remember an ugly thing that happened years ago now – as I tried to help another person and got too emotionally involved.  Even then, God was protecting me.  That person ended up betraying all my kindness and the friendship,  accusing me of some ugly things.  It could have gone down a much more dangerous and ugly road if I hadn’t realized first I needed to say goodbye.   But as it turned out – God used that person to turn things around, force me to become wiser about who to discuss things with and confide in.  And even though that hard lesson cost me that friendship – I have not stopped being kind and helpful.  I still reach out and want to help people.  I know it could have been worse.  Much worse.

Maybe you have an issue or circumstance that is weighing you down.  You can’t see anything positive about it.  You feel like it’s the worst experience of your life.  You don’t see any way out.  Here’s a thought for you today:

Look at the blessings and protection from God on your life so far.  Think of how things might have been worse if left entirely up to you.  Try to think of ways that God has truly intervened on your behalf.  Are there things in your story that are more than just coincidence?  Can someone benefit from your story of God’s grace in your life?  Are you able to still be positive and joyful even through your pain and trials?  Can you see any way that others might learn a life lesson from you?  Can you look through a different “God lens” and see how things could have been worse?

I am praying for you today.

 

God Bless 

Comments on: "It Could Have Been Worse" (4)

  1. Cindy,
    I immensely enjoyed reading this. After reading it my thoughts were of the prophet Habakkuk who was awaiting the destruction of his country by the ruthless Chaldeans, whose army was called by God to punish His people for their disobedient and evil ways. It was during this time that he said, “Though the fig tree may not blossom, nor fruit be on the vines; though the labor of the olive may fail, and the fields yield no food; though the flock may be cut off from the fold, and there be no herd in the stalls, yet I will rejoice in the LORD (Habakkuk 3:17-18). These words of Habakkuk should make us stop and ask, “Are we thankful to God regardless of what He gives or withholds?” Here Habakkuk pondered how he would respond to the loss of every material blessing. He concluded, “I will joy in the God of my salvation” (v. 18), It’s like you said; “I always try to choose blessing and see God’s protection on my life. Even in the bad things that come my way. Even in the bad fall. Here’s what I thought: “This could have been so much worse. If I had been older, had less padding and my bones had been more brittle, I surely would have broken my hip or cracked a rib. I would have not just twisted and bruised my foot – I would have badly sprained or broken it. The blessing is that I only have bad bruises and a little limp while I recover but this too shall pass.”

    There are always reasons for being thankful to our God and Creator. I’ll share this simple story with you that I read some time ago about a little girl who told her pastor one day when he came to visit her that “she liked to play with the stars.” You see, she was confined to bed because of a severe spinal deformity, and her bed was positioned so that she had a good view of the sky. She wanted it that way so she could see the stars. “I wake up a lot at night and can’t get back to sleep,” she told the pastor, “and that’s when I play with the stars.” Her pastor, curious about what she meant by that, asked, “How do you play with the stars?” The child answered, “I pick out one and say, ‘That’s Mommy.’ I see another and say, ‘That’s Daddy.’ And I just keep on naming the stars after people and things I’m thankful for – my brothers and sisters, my doctor, my friends, my dog.” And on and on she went, until at last she exclaimed, “But there just aren’t enough stars to go around. Do we ever feel that way when we think about the many blessings God has showered on us? Of course, we could never name all our physical, spiritual, temporal, and eternal blessings. However, from time to time, it’s good to remember with thankfulness of heart of His many gifts to us. And as we do, like that little girl, we’ll feel like exclaiming, “There just aren’t enough stars to go around!”

    Blessings to you and family … Mikey

  2. Cindy, I try to think the same way. Things could really be worse. It is like counting my blessings, instead of complaining about what I don’t have. It is wanting what I already have, which I believe is the true definition of happiness.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

diana iannarone

Wake Up. Stand Up. Live Free. A Perceptual Approach to Rapid Growth and Permanent Change

Fallen Pastor

Helping fallen pastors and those affected by a fall from ministry

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

The Devotion Cafe'

Love and Empowerment is the Foundation

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Heart Club Band

⃟ What a strange world we live in... ⃟

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

The Fickle Heartbeat

A blog about love or lack thereof

knitting soul

turning the knots into something beautiful

Kristi Ann's Haven

Jesus ( Yeshua) Saves!!

PROJECT: A Journal for Project Management

Project is a journal for project managers to express their ideas and share their work through writing, conversation, design and image

The Light Post

Scott & Christina Graff

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

iwedplanner wedding vendors

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

Chickens Bring Peace to the Earth

Slow down, pray, make better choices

incomingfeed.wordpress.com/

Feed Only via TSS Team

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

FOGwalkerBirdie

Walking in the Favor Of God

PROPEL STEPS

Education is Everything

GIFT FROM THE HEART - Share and Care!

Appreciation, Respect and Gratitude towards all...... that there is!

Upside DIY

Born from the love of, "Do It Yourself" attitude!

Soul Access

LAY DOWN YOUR MASK AND BE KNOWN BELOVED

Traveling with Thomas

Follow me as I study in London and travel Europe

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Mercy Not Sacrifice

The Blog of Morgan Guyton

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Stealing Kisses & Making Mistakes.

Following God's path while stumbling through this world with a heart of a woman.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Ed Mooney Photography

The home of Kildare based Photographer, Blogger and self proclaimed Ruinhunter.

MyCreativeHaven

”Art washes from the soul the dust of everyday life.” -- Picasso.

gabrielsfury

poems & stories, thoughts about people and places between moments of clarity, or not.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

