Musings From A Musical Mind

 

Today I’m sharing an article that is usually only for my music students and parents from my music blog site.  But I thought that everyone might like to read this one.  Enjoy!

What Is Your Unique Gift?

I just got off the phone with a customer service Rep. for the company where we purchased our bed.  After carefully following the directions that were emailed to me and calling him back this morning, he gave me the nicest compliment!  He said, “I see here that you have your own music business, what do you do?”  I told him and he said, “No wonder then!  You are the nicest and friendliest person and I know it’s because you teach.

I never thought I was any different from anyone else, quite honestly.  Doesn’t everyone speak nicely on the phone with customer service, especially when they are helping you with a replacement part?  Isn’t everyone thankful and helpful?  Doesn’t everyone follow through with instructions and try to do their best – even in a negative situation?   He surprised me and I thanked him for the gracious compliment.  Quite honestly, it made my day!

Thinking

Thinking (Photo credit: Moyan_Brenn)

But it got me thinking.  I said to Greg at the breakfast table this morning, “You know the saying: ‘those who can DO and those who can’t TEACH’ – do you think it’s true?”  He thought for a moment and said, “No – not always.  Sometimes people retire or chose not to DO anymore”  Yes.  That’s me.  I choose to TEACH rather than perform, although I have done and still do my share of both.  I realized long ago that I do not get the same thrill and energy from performing that others do – and knowing that I am quite comfortable coaching and teaching others to do that – if they choose to.

We all have gifts and talents that are God-given.  Recognizing what they are sometimes take a whole lifetime – but it is worth exploring.  In exploring and finding out what that is – we are happier and more fulfilled human beings.  I knew long ago that my main gift is in encouraging others.  I have a unique ability to see the positive.  That doesn’t mean I haven’t had my share of negative things happen to me – but I have been able to come out of each situation with gratefulness and thankfulness because of how God designed me.

Maybe your gift is in leadership.  Maybe it’s in hospitality.  Maybe you are good with numbers.  Maybe you have influence.  Maybe you are gentle and meek.  Maybe you are one who sees beauty in everyone.  Maybe music is your love.  Maybe taking pictures gives you energy.  Maybe being on stage performing is where you were made to be.  Find out what gives you energy and go in that direction.

There are no accidents.  God made you the way you are for a reason.  You are unique.

God Bless

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

diana iannarone

Wake Up. Stand Up. Live Free. A Perceptual Approach to Rapid Growth and Permanent Change

Fallen Pastor

Helping fallen pastors and those affected by a fall from ministry

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

The Devotion Cafe'

Love and Empowerment

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Heart Club Band

⃟ What a strange world we live in... ⃟

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

The Fickle Heartbeat

A blog about love or lack thereof

knitting soul

turning the knots into something beautiful

Kristi Ann's Haven

Jesus ( Yeshua) Saves!!

Godinterest Blog

Your source for insights and information about Godinterest.com

The Light Post

Scott & Christina Graff

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

iwedplanner wedding vendors

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

Chickens Bring Peace to the Earth

Slow down, pray, make better choices

incomingfeed.wordpress.com/

Feed Only via TSS Team

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

FOGwalkerBirdie

Walking in the Favor Of God

PROPEL STEPS

Education is Everything

GIFT FROM THE HEART - Share and Care!

Appreciation, Respect and Gratitude towards all...... that there is!

Upside DIY

Born from the love of, "Do It Yourself" attitude!

Soul Access

LAY DOWN YOUR MASK AND BE KNOWN BELOVED

Traveling with Thomas

Follow me as I study in London and travel Europe

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Mercy Not Sacrifice

The Blog of Morgan Guyton

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Stealing Kisses & Making Mistakes.

Following God's path while stumbling through this world with a heart of a woman.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Ed Mooney Photography

The home of Kildare based Photographer, Blogger and self proclaimed Ruinhunter.

MyCreativeHaven

”Art washes from the soul the dust of everyday life.” -- Picasso.

gabrielsfury

poems & stories, thoughts about people and places between moments of clarity, or not.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

