Musings From A Musical Mind

How’s Your Nose?

We move next week to Union Gap, Washington – east of the Cascade mountain range in eastern Washington.  Not as far east as Spokane – but more centrally located.  This a great location – about 2 1/2 hours either direction and about an hour from Leavenworth or Tri-Cities area.

When you move – you CLEAN.  At least you should.  And I don’t mean a light dusting over cupboards and surfaces.  I mean deep cleaning in places that haven’t been touched in YEARS.  You know – the crevices.  The dark dingy places too high up to bother with.  I mean – no one sees them, right?  But when you move you KNOW your renters will see it.  And so like good landlords, we are painting and cleaning with vigor and hoping and praying that our new place over the mountains will be as clean waiting for us as we are leaving our home.

Child nose

Child nose (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve never considered myself a “clean freak”.  In fact – I’m not!  Far from it!  But compared to how some people live – I guess I am.  I purposely didn’t choose dogs that shed because I don’t want to deal with pet hair everywhere and in my bed.  And I’m not a fan of bad smells.  My nose tells me something is wrong in the garbage long before Greg thinks it’s time to empty it.  I can sniff out odors better and faster than most people and I am known as the music teacher who always has my house smelling good.  Students used to come and stand in my entry way and “sniff”.  “Your house ALWAYS smells so GOOD”!, They would say.

Much to my dismay, not all people have the same high standards for pet odors, smoke and garbage smells.  I even smelled cat urine upon approaching the entry way to our new home and Greg knows he will have to power wash and do other things to get rid of all bad smells both inside and out.  Thank goodness for new carpets and candles until all the former odors dissipate.

I realize that “smells” are something we get used to.  I dated someone in high school whose home had a really bad odor that I could never identify.  He and everyone else living there had simply gotten used to it and didn’t notice it.

Dirt, grime and garbage are other things we can get used to.  I don’t mean clutter.  I mean dirt, grime and garbage.  Sometimes I may have a lot of papers, and other clutter – or things not put away in their proper place.  But you will rarely find bathrooms or the kitchen intolerable or even downright gross in this house.  And again, I am NOT a clean freak!

Sometimes I wonder if we can take another lesson from real life.  How’s your “heart” nose?  Have you become just used to dirt, grime and garbage filling up your mind and emotions?  Or are you sensitive to the many wrong things happening in our culture today?  Does it bother you?  Do you call it out and want better things long before others do?  Are your personal standards for yourself higher than that?  But do you just slide over the deep cleaning work that is needed for some areas of your heart and mind?  A “renewing” of your mind?  Do you become judgmental to others who don’t appear to have it all together, like you?  If so – you may be one of us who wants and longs for quality in ourselves and others around us.  But you may also be blinded by your own awesomeness.  A true humble spirit and compassion is what your neighbors really need.  You may be the moral compass that God is calling you to be.  A “light” in a dark world.  Not afraid to forge ahead – cut through the garbage and filth to get to the truth.  But BE CAREFUL!

If I learned anything today from watching Russell Wilson‘s testimony and other teammates in the Seahawks – it is this:  You don’t have to clean yourself up to come to God.  He does the cleaning.  Come as your are”  Can my picky clean “nose” really tolerate others who do not get it yet?  Can I keep from judging and love them just as they are?  That is the challenge to all of us who call ourselves Christians.  After God cleans us – we need to let others know that we did not become this way out of our own awesomeness.  We were filthy dirty once.  Can we adjust our nose to see beyond?  To love people where they are?  I am soon going to have an opportunity to do just that.  Love people right where they are and just how they live.  To point them toward Jesus who will love them right where they are and who has the power to clean them up.  Can I do it?  I hope and pray so.

How’s your nose?

God Bless

 

Comments on: "How’s Your Nose?" (4)

  1. This is a great post. I found your blog by seeing a comment you made on Noe’s site Living The Kingdom. I look forward to reading more of your site. God bless you!

  2. Sometimes I can only blow out one side of my nose. Is that bad? LOL

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

diana iannarone

Wake Up. Stand Up. Live Free. A Perceptual Approach to Rapid Growth and Permanent Change

Fallen Pastor

Helping fallen pastors and those affected by a fall from ministry

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

The Devotion Cafe'

Love and Empowerment is the Foundation

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Heart Club Band

⃟ What a strange world we live in... ⃟

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

The Fickle Heartbeat

A blog about love or lack thereof

knitting soul

turning the knots into something beautiful

Kristi Ann's Haven

Jesus ( Yeshua) Saves!!

PROJECT: A Journal for Project Management

Project is a journal for project managers to express their ideas and share their work through writing, conversation, design and image

The Light Post

Scott & Christina Graff

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

iwedplanner wedding vendors

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

Chickens Bring Peace to the Earth

Slow down, pray, make better choices

incomingfeed.wordpress.com/

Feed Only via TSS Team

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

FOGwalkerBirdie

Walking in the Favor Of God

PROPEL STEPS

Education is Everything

GIFT FROM THE HEART - Share and Care!

Appreciation, Respect and Gratitude towards all...... that there is!

Upside DIY

Born from the love of, "Do It Yourself" attitude!

Soul Access

LAY DOWN YOUR MASK AND BE KNOWN BELOVED

Traveling with Thomas

Follow me as I study in London and travel Europe

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Mercy Not Sacrifice

The Blog of Morgan Guyton

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Stealing Kisses & Making Mistakes.

Following God's path while stumbling through this world with a heart of a woman.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Ed Mooney Photography

The home of Kildare based Photographer, Blogger and self proclaimed Ruinhunter.

MyCreativeHaven

”Art washes from the soul the dust of everyday life.” -- Picasso.

gabrielsfury

poems & stories, thoughts about people and places between moments of clarity, or not.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

