Musings From A Musical Mind

A Bittersweet Goodbye

Tuesday we move away from Seattle. We have lived in this area for 18 1/2 years. Longer than any place we have ever lived before.

When we moved to the Pacific Northwest in 1995 we had already lived in six different States, experienced other climates and cultures, from Alaska to Florida – Pennsylvania to California. And we grew to appreciate everywhere we lived and strived to appreciate all the unique beauty of both the scenery and the people where we were planted.

Today I sit in a local coffee shop. I am taking in the sights and smells of everything that is truly unique of the Pacific Nothwest. Rain and fog outside my window, eclectic music, people talking or reading, the hustle and bustle around me. Coffee inside, the fall chill outside. Seattle. I realize other places have coffee shops – but somehow Seattle has that certain edge over all others.

It is a strange feeling to sell furniture, downsize, walk through an almost empty house in preparation for a change. I remember each room and what happened in each through the years. I still see 10 year old Shawn running up and down these stairs – too “grown up” for a tree house left by the previous owners. And the time he and his friend Connor were going to spend the night in that same treehouse even though it was infested with spiders and wasps!

I remember Ashlee's sweet 16 party with her friends from High School. I remember many late night talks with both kids when they were teenagers. I remember “break ups” and happy moments with both of them. I remember when both of them moved out to begin their own lives – and I remember when Ashlee met Drew and the day she became engaged. I remember getting ready the day of her wedding. Each memory I will hold onto and take with me.

We've seen many changes in this house over the years with each other and our children. They are a myriad of bittersweet. Time has a way of being kind and softening even the most uncomfortable recollections. And I will take the bittersweet with me – loving both the joys and adversity and finding a way to reconcile them both.

I'll be seeing you on the other side.

God Bless

 

Comments on: "A Bittersweet Goodbye" (17)

  1. Union Gap, home of Minors… Enjoy the sunshine!!

  2. You are such a faithful person. You’ve brought so much joy and encouragement to many! All the best to you on this new season. I look forward to reading your life and hearing your story through the various ways you communicate God’s story to others. Peace!

  3. We moved to the Pacific NW from Colorado (our home state) in 1995. Moving challenges you to grow more dependent upon God and family. It’s also a great reason to not work on weekends and explore! Blessings and love to both of you.

  4. Cindy – What a blessing you’ve been to my family. From my mom to my kids to John and I…we are so thankful for your insight and friendship. We wish you both nothing but awesome things in this new grand adventure of yours and we pray that God continue to guide you both in your next steps. Change is tough, sister, and I pray that excitement overshadows fear and peace be your constant. Much love…I cant wait to hear/see how amazing life transforms for you both!

  5. Cindy, I moved around 17 times during my youth, mostly between two cities in Florida and Puerto Rico. I have tried not to move so much during my adulthood. If I move again, I would like to move closer to the beach or to the Caribbean. Take care and hope you settle well. Where are you living now?

    • Thanks Noel – we move Tuesday to the other side of the mountains from Seattle – to Union Gap right outside of Yakima. Sunny most of the time and 4 seasons. Looking forward to it!

  6. Hey Cindy, I hope you’ll be able to fit in the new place and will be able to call it your home.
    I understand how one can be emotionally tethered to a place where you have spent such a great time.
    Wish you good luck and Best wishes πŸ™‚

  7. Humor_Me_Now said:

    We moved 20 times in 40 years. The first time was from L.A. to Detroit in February. lol My kids finally forgave me late in life. lol I know it is though since you have lived there a long time. Wishing you the best.

  8. That left a tear in my eye. Good luck to you and greg, you are special people…:)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

diana iannarone

Wake Up. Stand Up. Live Free. A Perceptual Approach to Rapid Growth and Permanent Change

Fallen Pastor

Helping fallen pastors and those affected by a fall from ministry

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

The Devotion Cafe'

Love and Empowerment is the Foundation

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Heart Club Band

βƒŸ What a strange world we live in... βƒŸ

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

The Fickle Heartbeat

A blog about love or lack thereof

knitting soul

turning the knots into something beautiful

Kristi Ann's Haven

Jesus ( Yeshua) Saves!!

PROJECT: A Journal for Project Management

Project is a journal for project managers to express their ideas and share their work through writing, conversation, design and image

The Light Post

Scott & Christina Graff

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

iwedplanner wedding vendors

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

Chickens Bring Peace to the Earth

Slow down, pray, make better choices

incomingfeed.wordpress.com/

Feed Only via TSS Team

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

FOGwalkerBirdie

Walking in the Favor Of God

PROPEL STEPS

Education is Everything

GIFT FROM THE HEART - Share and Care!

Appreciation, Respect and Gratitude towards all...... that there is!

Upside DIY

Born from the love of, "Do It Yourself" attitude!

Soul Access

LAY DOWN YOUR MASK AND BE KNOWN BELOVED

Traveling with Thomas

Follow me as I study in London and travel Europe

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Mercy Not Sacrifice

The Blog of Morgan Guyton

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Stealing Kisses & Making Mistakes.

Following God's path while stumbling through this world with a heart of a woman.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Ed Mooney Photography

The home of Kildare based Photographer, Blogger and self proclaimed Ruinhunter.

MyCreativeHaven

”Art washes from the soul the dust of everyday life.” -- Picasso.

gabrielsfury

poems & stories, thoughts about people and places between moments of clarity, or not.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

