Musings From A Musical Mind

Letter To Younger Self

 

letters1

Today I came across an article about an eleven year old girl who died.  Among her things was a letter written to her “future self” to be opened in the year 2023.  Because her mother was curious about the letter she decided to open it, read it and publish it for all to see.  An invasion of privacy?  I’m not sure.  But the letter was so encouraging and uplifting – it is easy to forgive whatever motive the mother had.  I read it and smiled.  It is much the same kind of letter that I would have written to myself when I was eleven.  Curious about the future, and wanting some kind of assurance that life, things, people and opportunities would not change who I was and who I would become – seems like the kind of letter I would write.  And so would you.

However…

Much of what I see floating around the internet (and especially celebrities) is a letter to their “younger self”.  The kind of letter you would write if you could somehow transport yourself back in time, 20, 30, 40 years – or even longer.  If somehow we had time travel at our disposal and could magically appear to ourselves, like “Back to the Future” with Michael J. Fox.

But let’s be reasonable.  Much like the younger versions of Marty McFly’s mother and father in that same movie – who were not very open to glimpses of truth and wisdom from the future – probably neither would we.  I do see it as an interesting topic, however and would love to stay here a little longer.  Would my younger self have listened to me at this mature age?  Especially if I seemed to posses knowledge that only a “future” me would know about?  Would it them be clear to my younger self that I was trustworthy and knew what I was talking about?  I’m not sure.

And since events in our life – choices we make determine our natural course and make us who we are maybe the only answer to this is – let it be.

As I pondered this – a thought occurred to me.  God knows our past, present and future and chooses not to tell us about it.  He could.  But He does not.  He does not try to influence our decisions, but asks us to trust Him when we feel Him speaking to us in times of great darkness, sorrow pain and loss.  I’ve come to the conclusion that He knows all those decisions we make, good and bad will shape us into the man or woman we are today.  Oh He could give away some of the secrets of timing, people and choices – but He does not.  There is a lesson in this.  And I don’t want it to be lost on me  especially when I cry out to Him, “WHY???????”  Ultimately I would have to admit that even though some of those stupid choices I have made over the years were painful, humiliating and MAN I wish I could have a DO OVER!!  But this is not how life works.

So if I had the chance – like God to go back and whisper some things to my younger self – I would not.  I would stand and observe.  And be thankful.  And let things run their natural course.

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.   Jeremiah 29:11

That is good enough for me.  He knows – and gives a glimpse into my future – plans for welfare and not for evil – hope and a future.

Be encouraged today.  The choices you have made, situations you have found yourself in – good and bad have given you character and maturity.  And God knew all along.

 

God Bless

Comments on: "Letter To Younger Self" (1)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

diana iannarone

Wake Up. Stand Up. Live Free. A Perceptual Approach to Rapid Growth and Permanent Change

Fallen Pastor

Helping fallen pastors and those affected by a fall from ministry

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

The Devotion Cafe'

Love and Empowerment is the Foundation

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Heart Club Band

⃟ What a strange world we live in... ⃟

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

The Fickle Heartbeat

A blog about love or lack thereof

knitting soul

turning the knots into something beautiful

Kristi Ann's Haven

Jesus ( Yeshua) Saves!!

PROJECT: A Journal for Project Management

Project is a journal for project managers to express their ideas and share their work through writing, conversation, design and image

The Light Post

Scott & Christina Graff

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

iwedplanner wedding vendors

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

The Life Project

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

Humanity777's Blog

The Church of Christ

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

Chickens Bring Peace to the Earth

Slow down, pray, make better choices

incomingfeed.wordpress.com/

Feed Only via TSS Team

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

FOGwalkerBirdie

Walking in the Favor Of God

PROPEL STEPS

Education is Everything

GIFT FROM THE HEART - Share and Care!

Appreciation, Respect and Gratitude towards all...... that there is!

Upside DIY

Born from the love of, "Do It Yourself" attitude!

Soul Access

LAY DOWN YOUR MASK AND BE KNOWN BELOVED

Traveling with Thomas

Follow me as I study in London and travel Europe

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

Mercy Not Sacrifice

The Blog of Morgan Guyton

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Stealing Kisses & Making Mistakes.

Following God's path while stumbling through this world with a heart of a woman.

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

Ed Mooney Photography

The home of Kildare based Photographer, Blogger and self proclaimed Ruinhunter.

MyCreativeHaven

”Art washes from the soul the dust of everyday life.” -- Picasso.

gabrielsfury

poems & stories, thoughts about people and places between moments of clarity, or not.

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

