Musings From A Musical Mind

Being Left Alone

English: An anxious person

Image via Wikipedia

Sometimes things just happen.  Sometimes it’s a good thing.  Sometimes it’s bad.    There are things and people added to our plans – and sometimes things and people are taken away.  There are times of happiness, comfort and safety – But  then there is a time of desolation, hurt and loss.

No one wants to feel abandoned, isolated and left behind.  While it may not happen so much when we’re young – sooner or later it does as we get older.  The same comforts, circumstances and even people in our lives, that are with us when we begin our journey, or part way through our journey – sometimes do not continue with us the rest of the way.  It is the feeling of being “left alone”.  It is difficult to understand.  But it is called life.

This week we’ve been training our 14 week old puppy, Daisy to stay home alone – without anyone here.  Training her to wait – be patient – that we will come back again – therefore reassuring her, by our return that she is not being left permanently.  It is a training for us too as we do not want her to feel lonely, brush her aside like she is not important – but at the same time we want to reduce her anxiety by the fact that we will return.  It is difficult to explain that to a puppy.

In the same way – I wonder how much our earthly anxiety is a mixture of “unnecessary worry” and “childlike anxiety” simply because we do not understand our situation and circumstances like God does.  We don’t have the ability to wait and trust that God sees the bigger picture – and that it is only for a “season” and not “forever”.  I’m sure that God must say, “I know best.  I can see everything all at once.  Trust me”  But we miss it – because we’re too busy being uncomfortable at our own perceived feeling of “being left”.  And more than that – that God doesn’t hear us or understand.

There are some lessons that can only be learned without anyone with me.  Feeling that isolation is good for me.  In anxiety I learn trust.  In feeling abandoned by my overwhelming circumstance – I learn faith.  And I also want to remain hopeful that God has all the answers to the questions I have.  That there will be a time when I understand.

And until then – I must learn the same painful lesson that our puppy must.  Being left alone is sometimes how God speaks His most powerful insights to me.  It is in that lesson, that I am stronger, more compassionate to others, and ready for God to use me again.

When was the last time you feel completely alone?  When you lost something you thought you would always have?  Did you hear God speak to you?

 

God Bless

Comments on: "Being Left Alone" (2)

  1. Sept 9th we found out that my sweet Mom was filled with Cancer….Sept. 25th she went home….My cousin told me that I would have this Orphan feeling, she had lost her Dad, then her Sister, then Her Mom leaving her abandoned, Orphaned in her 60’s….I have began to feel that feeling but know that God is ever present, he has given me a “bonus” family, a second set of Parents, a little sister & brother-in-law and their sweet lambs that I call my Grandkids….I have my amazing son and daughter in law and a truly sweet surprise in all of this a dear friend has come back into my life that I thought was gone for life but here He is, in my life, my thoughts, my heart, my home, all placed on my path for such a time as this….I am truly blessed, God really does have a plan. AND YOU Cindy, as I have told you over this journey the last 2 years of my life you have been one of the most amazing treasures that God has placed in my pathway….Thank you for your sharing, your encouragement, your love, your understanding and patience with my redundant “Ramblings” Thank you for being willing to let God use you to touch my heart in such a way that each time I seen I had a message from you I knew I would find hope, wisdom, no judgement, understanding and most of all love from a friend who told me it was OK to be angry, to not stop the feeling’s but also don’t settle for being abused ever again, to move on, to trust God with my unknown future…..I had many people pouring life into me, but you Cindy spoke straight to the heart, you were a blessing in my journey of loneliness and now God has filled my heart with so many friends as I walk out another journey of loneliness…my home feels empty, my Mom lived with me…three weeks after she past away I had to put down our family pet a sweet beautiful Tabby cat with Green, Green eyes but ya know what God even had that covered I can have my son’s&daughters Yorkie little Mojo anytime I need a hug or go visit my little sister’s family dog Coconut, who loves me, they both look for “treats” when I’m around cause they know I’m a sucker for the treats….isn’t God something, “supplying All our needs” just like he said he would….LOL

    • Yes! You are blessed indeed! Thanks so much for your comment and continual friendship, Debi! It’s amazing what certain people placed in our path at just the right moment can do for us! So fun to see you healthy and happy – you deserve it!

Leave a comment

diana iannarone

Wake Up. Stand Up. Live Free. A Perceptual Approach to Rapid Growth and Permanent Change

The Devotion Cafe'

Be Encourage

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

The Fickle Heartbeat

A blog about love or lack thereof

knitting soul

turning the knots into something beautiful

Kristi Ann's Haven

JESUS-YESHUA SAVES YE ALL!!

Jamaica Homes

Jamaica Homes: Find Your Dream Property in Jamaica. Search Homes for Sale & Rent.

The Light Post

Scott & Christina Graff

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

iwedplanner wedding vendors

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Granny Smith: Unleashed

Observations and random thoughts from a "not so teenager."

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Life Project Blog

Finding Clear and Simple Faith

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

Brendan Cole - Writer

Musings On Life and Other Minutiae

Chickens Bring Peace to the Earth

Slow down, pray, make better choices

generaliregi

Romance of Five Clouds and Magical Poetry

FOGwalkerBirdie

Walking in the Favor Of God

PROPEL STEPS

Education is Everything

Upside DIY

Born from the love of, "Do It Yourself" attitude!

Soul Access

LAY DOWN YOUR MASK AND BE KNOWN BELOVED

Traveling with Thomas

Follow me as I study in London and travel Europe

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

I will shatter a word and scatter the contents into the wind to share it with the world.

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Ed Mooney Photography

The official blog of Ed Mooney Photography. Dad of 3, Photographer, Martial Artist, Gym Rat & Blogger. Exploring the historical sites of Ireland.

MyCreativeHaven

”Art washes from the soul the dust of everyday life.” -- Picasso.

gabrielsfury

poems & stories, thoughts about people and places between moments of clarity, or not.

Reowr

Poetry that purrs. It's reowr because the cat said so.

A Blumes With a View

Putting the "blah" in blog!!

The Low Low Style

Sustainable-ish Style, Secondhand, Small, Size-Inclusive

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

allmostrelevant

@allmostrelevant

My Good Time Stories

Inspirational, Motivational, and Heartwarming Stories

STEAL MY POETRY

All things unpublishable.

Book of Mohs

The adventures of an softhearted father

Did Jesus have a Facebook Page?

Christianity 0ut of the Box

Unshakable Hope

"All of creation will be shaken and removed, so that only unshakable things will remain." (Hebrews 12:27)

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.